Max Chilton re-signs with Chip Ganassi for 2017


Max Chilton returns to an unchanged Chip Ganassi Racing line-up for the 2017 Verizon IndyCar season.

As had been widely anticipated, Chilton will link with the #8 Ganassi machine in a seat which had previously been associated with Felix Serralles.

Chilton brings primary backing from, Gallagher & Co, an international insurance brokerage firm.

The Brit finished 19th in his rookie IndyCar Series year in 2016 after running for Carlin in Indy Lights the previous year.

A former Manor F1 driver and member of the botched Nissan LMP1 line-up from 2015, Chilton once again joins Scott Dixon, Tony Kanaan and Charlie Kimball.

Stan Sport is the only way to watch every round of the INDYCAR SERIES. Click here for all the action streaming ad-free, live and on demand.

Ganassi is making the switch back to Honda engines and aero kits after running with Chevrolet.

“I think we were able to build a solid foundation in my rookie year in the Verizon IndyCar Series with the support of Gallagher and the team,” Chilton said.

“The learning curve is very steep here and the field is separated by just a few seconds from top to bottom with really talented teams and drivers, which makes the competition incredibly close.

“Having a year of experience now to adapt to the car and learn all of the courses on the schedule is huge for us.

“Chip and Gallagher give us everything we need to be competitive and go out to contend for wins, so I’m optimistic for the direction of the #8 Gallagher team heading into next season.”

Chilton’s re-appointment comes after Rahal/Letterman/Lanigan announced Oriol Servia will join the squad’s full-time driver Graham Rahal in a two-car bid at the Indy 500 with a view to other selected races.

Still unresolved is the situation at KV Racing which saw its regular driver Sebastien Bourdais move to Dale Coyne Racing in an all-new line-up alongside Ed Jones.

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]