McLaughlin awarded Sheene Medal at Supercars gala

Monday 5th December, 2016 - 11:05pm


Scott McLaughlin

Scott McLaughlin

Scott McLaughlin has won the Barry Sheene Medal for the second time at the Supercars Gala Awards in Sydney.

McLaughlin, who also took out the medal in 2014, was bestowed with Supercars’ ‘best and fairest’ honour that has been handed out since 2003.

The 23-year-old finished a career best third in this year’s championship with Garry Rogers Motorsport before departing for DJR Team Penske in 2017.

The night’s other major honour went to the brothers that brought McLaughlin into Supercars, Ross and Jim Stone.

Supercars has inducted the Stones into its Hall of Fame following a highly successful stint as team owners from 1998-2012.

The period yielded a Bathurst 1000 (1998) and three Supercars titles (2003 and 2004 with Marcos Ambrose and 2005 with Russell Ingall.

Jim Stone remains involved in the sport working for his son Matt’s Dunlop Series team, while Ross runs a small workshop restoring cars on the Gold Coast.

The Supercars gala also saw Shane van Gisbergen was officially presented his Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Trophy.

It was van Gisbergen’s first title and he also became the first New Zealander to win the Championship since Jim Richards in 1991.

Red Bull Racing Australia walked away with the Castrol EDGE Champion Team trophy for the seventh year running, securing their place at the head of pit lane for another season.

GM Holden was Champion Manufacturer of the Year having dominated the race win tally.

2016 Virgin Australia Supercars Gala Awards Winners

2016 Virgin Australia Supercars Champion – Shane van Gisbergen
2016 Supercars Dunlop Series Champion – Garry Jacobson
V8 Utes Champion – David Sieders
Castrol EDGE Champion Team – Red Bull Racing Australia
Champion Manufacturer – GM Holden
Barry Sheene Medalist – Scott McLaughlin
Mike Kable Young Gun Award – Cameron Waters
ARMOR ALL Pole Position Award – Shane van Gisbergen
ARMOR ALL Dunlop Series Pole Position Award – Jack Le Brocq
Supercars Hall of Fame Inductees – Ross and Jim Stone
Privateers Cup – Todd Hazelwood
Fans Choice Awards – Most Popular Driver – Craig Lowndes
Fans Choice Awards – Best Event – Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000
Best Presented Team – Red Bull Racing Australia
Supercars Media Award – Jessica Yates, Fox Sports
Appreciation of Service Award – Frank Lowndes
Best Volunteer Group – Clipsal 500 Adelaide has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!