SVG secures Supercars title in dramatic Race 28

Shane van Gisbergen

Shane van Gisbergen

Shane van Gisbergen fought back from an early drive-through penalty to secure his maiden Supercars Championship title in Race 28 in Sydney.

While team-mate and title rival Jamie Whincup won the race in dominant fashion, a third place finish for Van Gisbergen was enough to put the championship beyond doubt.

Drama for the Kiwi began with a poor start from pole position that saw the #97 Holden shuffled back to sixth through the opening corners.

An attempted pass on Mark Winterbottom nine laps later then left Van Gisbergen in serious trouble as he tagged The Bottle-O Ford into a spin.


A subsequent drive-through penalty buried Van Gisbergen in the pack, seemingly prolonging the title decider until Sunday.

A Safety Car to recover the stranded Nissan of Dale Wood on lap 50 of 74, however, put Van Gisbergen back in contention for the top five finish he needed.

Restarting ninth with 20 laps to go, Van Gisbergen picked his way through Will Davison, Rick Kelly, Todd Kelly and Craig Lowndes to finally put himself in a title winning position 10 laps from home.

He didn’t stop there, however, overtaking Scott McLaughlin for fourth before attacking third placed James Courtney, who aggressively defended his position.

After an intense battle, Van Gisbergen finally cleared Courtney at the start of the final lap, leaving him to secure the title in style with a podium finish.

“It’s a pretty amazing feeling,” he said.

“I’m sorry to Mark, I went up the inside and didn’t commit.

“As soon as I went up the inside I thought ‘you pussy’, I didn’t go in hard enough.

“It was his right to turn in, my fault, but I had an awesome car to come through like that.

“We had a lucky Safety Car but that’s racing… what an amazing year.”

Garth Tander meanwhile used a strong mix of speed and strategy to take second in his penultimate start for the Holden Racing Team.

Tander and Courtney had both jumped McLaughlin and Craig Lowndes in the second round of stops to set up what looked liked being a double HRT podium.

Courtney fell from third to fifth on the final lap, with Van Gisbergen and McLaughlin both sneaking by when Courtney ran deep into Turn 1.

Lowndes also had a poor final few laps, slipping behind Rick Kelly and Will Davison to finish just eighth.

Tim Slade and David Reynolds completed the top 10, with the latter coming from the back of the grid after a penalty for breaching post-qualifying parc ferme conditions.

A dismal day for the Ford runners saw 11th placed Fabian Coulthard as the top Falcon driver.

Todd Kelly was 12th after understeering into the Turn 11 tyre wall as Van Gisbergen made his way through 10 laps from home.

Winterbottom lost five laps due to damage from his early incident with Van Gisbergen, eventually finishing 23rd.

Result: Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Coates Hire Sydney 500 Race 28

1 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 74 01:55:51.3313
2 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 74 01:55:58.1706
3 Red Bull Racing Australia Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 74 01:56:01.1655
4 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 74 01:56:01.7213
5 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 74 01:56:02.1660
6 Sengled Motorsport Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 74 01:56:08.6952
7 Team Darrell Lea STIX Will Davison Holden Commodore VF 74 01:56:09.2880
8 TeamVortex Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 74 01:56:14.6480
9 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 74 01:56:16.3648
10 Erebus Motorsport Penrite David Reynolds Holden Commodore VF 74 01:56:17.9295
11 DJR Team Penske Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG/X 74 01:56:19.2175
12 carsales Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 74 01:56:22.9172
13 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 74 01:56:24.1180
14 DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X 74 01:56:25.2267
15 Repair Management Aust Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 74 01:56:25.9923
16 Preston Hire Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 74 01:56:27.4555
17 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 74 01:56:28.3506
18 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 74 01:56:29.3656
19 Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 74 01:56:30.7919
20 Plus Fitness Racing Andre Heimgartner Holden Commodore VF 74 01:56:31.5793
21 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 74 01:56:37.5259
22 Erebus Motorsport Shae Davies Holden Commodore VF 71 01:57:20.1338
23 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 69 01:57:06.7239
24 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Moffat Volvo S60 65 01:56:49.2223
DNF GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Nissan Altima 48 01:13:51.3286
DNF Super Black Racing Chris Pither Ford Falcon FG/X  1     2:20.6410

Championship Standings

1 Shane van Gisbergen 3218
2 Jamie Whincup 3048
3 Scott McLaughlin 2695
4 Craig Lowndes 2686
5 Will Davison 2499
6 Mark Winterbottom 2420
7 Chaz Mostert 2289
8 Michael Caruso 2176
9 Tim Slade 2167
10 Garth Tander 2114
11 James Courtney 2060
12 Fabian Coulthard 2036
13 Rick Kelly 1835
14 Todd Kelly 1760
15 Scott Pye 1741
16 Jason Bright 1459
17 David Reynolds 1435
18 Cameron Waters 1423
19 Nick Percat 1373
20 James Moffat 1341
21 Chris Pither 1318
22 Dale Wood 1273
23 Tim Blanchard 1266
24 Lee Holdsworth 1054
25 Andre Heimgartner 965
26 Alex Premat 840
27 Jonathon Webb 681
28 Aaren Russell 627
29 David Wall 602
30 Paul Dumbrell 555
31 Steven Richards 516
32 Steve Owen 504
33 Cameron McConville 483
34 Luke Youlden 468
35 Ash Walsh 468
36 Dean Fiore 444
37 Warren Luff 432
38 Tony D’Alberto 429
39 David Russell 405
40 Shae Davies 400
41 Jack Perkins 374
42 Macauley Jones 360
43 Matthew Campbell 324
44 Richie Stanaway 324
45 Karl Reindler 309
46 Jack Le Brocq 303
47 Dean Canto 303
48 Russell Ingall 252
49 Chris van der Drift 234
50 Craig Baird 219
51 Andrew Jones 201
52 James Golding 180
53 Simona de Silvestro 126
54 Renee Gracie 126
55 Kurt Kostecki 108

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]