Speedcafe.com wins at Supercars Media Awards

From left: Bartholomaeus, Craill, Hawkins, Fogarty, Dale, Schebeci and Harrison

From left: Stefan Bartholomaeus (Speedcafe.com), Richard Craill (Race Torque), AJ Hawkins (Fox Sports), Mark Fogarty (Fairfax), William Dale (Fox Sports), Tony Schibeci (SEN) and James Harrison (Fox Sports)

Speedcafe.com’s run of success at the Supercars Media Awards has continued in 2016.

Website editor Stefan Bartholomaeus claimed the coveted Best Breaking News Report award for his story in August revealing Supercars’ agreements with event promoters in Indonesia and Thailand.

The two new events featured on a draft 2017 Supercars calendar before eventually being pushed back to a planned 2018 introduction.

Bartholomaeus’ latest triumph is his sixth Supercars Media Award in the last three years and adds to the CAMS Motor Sport Journalist and News Story of the Year awards he won in 2015.

Other winners from last night’s ceremony in Sydney included Fairfax Media’s Mark Fogarty, who claimed the Best News Reporter gong, while Will Dale (Fox Sports) took out the Best Feature Writer award.

Fox Sports also won the Best Television program for their Bathurst Legends documentaries and the new Most Outstanding use of Social Media/Online Content category with the innovative Fox Vision app.

Getty Images’ Rob Cianflone won the Best Photographer and Best News/Feature Photogprahr prizes, while John Morris took out the Best Single Action Photograph title.

Richard Craill claimed the best commentator for the fifth consecutive year while SEN’s ‘On the Grid’ program was recognised as the Best Radio/Podcast category.

Legendary television broadcaster Mike Raymond was inducted into the Hall of Fame in recognition for his services to the sport.

There was also a special tribute to pioneering motoring journalist Bill Tuckey, who died in May this year.

Best Breaking News Report – Stefan Bartholomaeus – Speedcafe.com
Best News Reporter
– Mark Fogarty – Fairfax Media/Auto Action
Best Feature Writer – Will Dale – Fox Sports
Most outstanding use of Social Media /Online Content – Fox Sports – Fox Vision App
Best Photographer – Robert Cianflone – Getty Images
Best Single Action Photograph – John Morris
Best News/Feature Photograph – Robert Cianflone – Getty Images
Best Television Program –  Fox Sports – Bathurst Legends
Best Television Story News/Feature  – Gus Goswell – ABC TV 730
Best Radio/Podcast Program – On The Grid – 1116 SEN
Best Commentator TV/Radio/On-Track – Richard Craill

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]