Vinales fastest, Rins suffers back injury

Maverick Vinales

Maverick Vinales

Maverick Vinales continued his impressive debut for Yamaha by topping the final day of the MotoGP post-season test at Valencia.

Signed as a replacement for Jorge Lorenzo, Vinales has settled in well at his new home as he clocked a 1:29.97s to top the times for the second consecutive day.

Vinales’ time came during the afternoon following a strong start from Honda’s Marc Marquez, who dipped underneath the Yamaha rider’s Tuesday benchmark early in the running.

In the end, the Silverstone MotoGP winner was 0.19s quicker than Marquez at the conclusion of the test.

The final day was halted for an hour when Suzuki riders Alex Rins and Andrea Iannone crashed in separate incidents at Turn 12.

Barriers at the corner required repair while Rins was carried from the scene by a stretcher.

Rins was transferred to hospital where he was diagnosed with two compressed vertebrae and expected to be sidelined for a month. Iannone escaped without injury.

Ducati’s Andrea Dovizioso managed to fire his 2017 machine into third once the session resumed albeit 0.4s adrift of Vinales.

Iannone ended the day in fourth ensuring there were four different marques at the top of the timesheets.

Honda’s Dani Pedrosa was fifth ahead of LCR Honda’s Cal Crutchlow and Valentino Rossi, who clocked an identical time in seventh.

New Ducati signing Jorge Lorenzo was eighth having jumped aboard the 2017 machine for the first time.

The top 10 was completed by Aprilia’s Aleix Espargaro and Tech 3 Yamaha’s Jonas Folger.

Australia’s Jack Miller suffered an off before clocking a time good enough for 12th position, while KTM continued to improve with Pol Espargaro in 17th spot.

Result: MotoGP Valencia Test Day 2

Position Rider Team Time Gap Laps
1 Maverick Vinales Yamaha 1:29.97s 76
2 Marc Marquez Honda 1:30.17 0.196s 78
3 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati 1:30.44 0.468s 61
4 Andrea Iannone Suzuki 1:30.59 0.624s 51
5 Dani Pedrosa Honda 1:30.68 0.711s 41
6 Cal Crutchlow LCR Honda 1:30.70 0.734s 63
7 Valentino Rossi Yamaha 1:30.70 0.734s 69
8 Jorge Lorenzo Ducati 1:30.74 0.769s 66
9 Aleix Espargaro Aprilia 1:30.88 0.910s 61
10 Jonas Folger Tech3 Yamaha 1:30.94 0.973s 63
11 Johann Zarco Tech3 Yamaha 1:31.01 1.040s 61
12 Jack Miller Honda 1:31.06 1.094s 59
13 Scott Redding Pramac Ducati 1:31.11 1.143s 48
14 Alvaro Bautista Aspar Ducati 1:31.18 1.211s 69
15 Hector Barbera Avintia Ducati 1:31.24 1.269s 59
16 Michele Pirro Pramac Ducati 1:31.81 1.841s 40
17 Pol Espargaro KTM 1:31.85 1.878s 70
18 Tito Rabat Honda 1:31.91 1.943s 61
19 Loris Baz Avintia Ducati 1:32.16 2.186s 52
20 Bradley Smith KTM 1:32.53 2.563s 59
21 Eugene Laverty Aprilia 1:32.56 2.593s 57
22 Karel Abraham Aspar Ducati 1:32.69 2.724s 41
23 Takuya Tsuda Suzuki 1:33.30 3.330s 77
24 Alex Rins Suzuki 1:33.76 3.786s 5

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]