Top 10 Shootout for Bathurst 12 Hour

Thursday 10th November, 2016 - 2:43pm


Van Gisbergen scored pole for this year's race

Van Gisbergen scored pole for this year’s race

Pole position for the Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour will be decided by a Top 10 Shootout next year.

The Bathurst 1000-style Shootout replaces the previous 20 minute final qualifying session for GT3 competitors only.

Organisers have announced that the Shootout will be sponsored by Pirelli, which as previously reported will become the race’s control tyre supplier in 2017.

The pole sitter will continue to be handed the Allan Simonsen Pole Award, which was inagurated in 2014 following the Dane’s death at Le Mans the previous year.

Shane van Gisbergen took pole for this year’s race, clocking 2:01.28s in the #59 Tekno Autosports McLaren that went on to win the following day’s race.

With the pole time having come down by over a second in each of the last three years, it is hoped that the fastest cars will dip below the two minute barrier next year. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!