SUPPORTS: Evans takes pole for NZ V8 opener

Simon Evans

Simon Evans pic: NZ V8 Touring Cars Facebook

BNT NZ Touring Cars

Simon Evans emerged as the class of the BNT NZ Touring Cars field as he took pole position for the opening round of the season at Pukekohe.

The former Dunlop Series racer was the only driver to dip into the 1:04s bracket in the 20 minute session.

Nick Ross had set the initial pace in the hit out behind the wheel of his Total Lubricants backed Nissan Altima, before Evans surged to the top of the times.

Ross managed to improve his time but fell 0.3s shy of Evans’ 1:04.94s effort at the conclusion of qualifying.

Ken Smith Motorsport’s Tom Alexander was third fastest ahead of the Toyota Camry of Sam Barry, while former Supercars driver Jason Bargwanna was fifth.

Lance Hughes, Tony Anderson, John Midgley, Brock Cooley and Brad Lathrope completed the top 10. Lathrope was the quickest of the TL class cars.

The NZ Touring Cars will return on Saturday for an 8 lap race.

Aussie Racing Cars

Craig Woods has taken pole position for the opening non-championship Aussie Racing Cars heat after a hotly contested qualifying session.

Woods clocked a 1:13.68s to pip Blake Sciberras to the pole by 0.11s in a interrupted session that was halted by Ruth Bowler’s stricken car.

Kel Treseder put his Camaro bodied racer in third ahead of newly crowned series winner James Duckworth and Brendon Pingel.

Kyle Clews, Grant Ludbey, Peter Carr, Darren Chamberlain and Chris Stevenson filled positions six through ten.

The Aussie Racing Cars will contest two 8 lap races on Saturday.

NZ V8 Ute Racing Series 

Paul Manuell comfortably topped the times in qualifying for the NZ V8 Ute Racing Series.

The Holden driver was 0.37s faster than Matt Spratt while Richard Moore was just a hundredth further back in his Flex Group Holden.

Peter Ward completed the second row in fourth ahead of Glen Collinson and Brett Rudd.

The NZ V8 Ute field will also line up for two 8 lap races on Saturday.

Central Muscle Cars

Qualifying for the Central Muscle Cars saw Dean Perkins edge John Midgley to pole position.

Perkins posted a 1:08.29s effort which proved to be 0.2s quicker than the Ford XE Falcon of Midgley.

The Ford racers were easier the fastest cars on track as Shane Wigston ended the session in third a full 1.1s adrift of the pace.

The HQ Holden racer will share the second row with Bruce Anderson’s Ford Mustang.

Central Muscle Cars will host an 8 lap race on Saturday afternoon.

Toyota Finance 86 Series 

Ash Blewett secured pole position by the narrowest of margins in the Toyota Finance 86 Series.

Blewett pipped Ryan Yardley to pole by 0.0030s as Australian Toyota 86 Racing Series driver Will Brown claimed third on his wildcard appearance.

Brown, who wrapped up the Australian Formula 4 Championship last month, was 0.5s away from the front running pace.

The one-make series will return for an 8 lap race on Saturday.

SsangYong Racing Series 

Cain Lobb was the star in qualifying for the SsangYong Racing Series.

Lobb denied Daniel Connor pole by 0.09s with Rowan Shepherd third and Alexandra Whitley fourth.

The SsangYong Racing Series will undertake two 8 lap races during Saturday’s schedule.

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]