WORLD WRAP: Mawson stars on BRDC F3 debut

BRDC British Formula 3 Autumn Trophy

Joey Mawson (left) celebrates a aide BRDC F3 podium at Snetterton

Joey Mawson (left) celebrates a maiden BRDC F3 podium at Snetterton

Rising Australian star Joey Mawson scored three podium results as he made an impressive debut in the BRDC British Formula 3 Autumn Trophy at Snetterton.

The newly crowned German Formula 4 champion joined Douglas Motorsport for the four race series at the Norfolk circuit.

Mawson ended the weekend second in the standings after scoring two second place finishes and a third from the three races completed.

Organisers were forced to cancel the final race due to heavy fog at the circuit.

The 20-year-old followed Enaam Ahmed home in the first and third heats with the pair separated by less than two seconds.

Mawson finished third behind Dan Ticktum and Ahmed in the second race.

“My aim coming into the weekend was to continually learn without the pressure of a championship on my shoulders,” said Mawson.

“The format of this weekend was completely different to all of my previous experience.

“There were different rules, different procedures, there was no radio communication and I was also in a different car with a different team, it was a steep learning curve.

“To get three podiums from the three races was very pleasing.

“I would have started on pole position (due to setting the fastest lap of the race in race three) for the final race but unfortunately we didn’t get to race it.”

Louis Deletraz is the new Formula V8 3.5 Championship leader

Louis Deletraz is the new Formula V8 3.5 Championship leader

Formula V8 3.5 Championship

Louis Deletraz assumed the Formula V8 3.5 Championship lead after a controversial penultimate round at Jerez.

The son of ex-Formula 1 driver Jean-Denis Deletraz clashed with title rival Tom Dillmann in the opening race that saw the latter retire, while the former was handed a 10 second penalty, dropping him to 11th position.

Starting from pole position, Deletraz bounced back in Race 2 as he followed Egor Orudzhev to finish second, opening up a single point lead over Dillmann in the title race.

Matthieu Vaxiviere secured third ahead of GP3 star Jack Aitken.

The opening race of the weekend saw Matevos Isaakyan emerge from a close fight with Orudzhev to score a breakthrough victory, while Vaxiviere finished third.

Australian Thomas Randle endured a challenging debut in the category with Comtec Racing.

The Melbourne driver retired from the opening race before finishing 13th in the second encounter.

The Formula V8 3.5 Championship heads to Barcelona for the final round from November 5-6.

Jonathan Rea clinched his second World Superbike Championship in Qatar

Jonathan Rea clinched his second World Superbike Championship in Qatar

World Superbike Championship 

Jonathan Rea clinched his second World Superbike Championship crown in Qatar as Chaz Davies dominated the final round of the season.

Rea required just two points to successfully defend his title and the Kawasaki rider duly delivered by finishing second in the opening race at the Losail circuit.

The Northern Irishman was unable to convert his pole position into the lead as Davies shot to the front.

Rea kept within touching distance of the Aruba Ducati rider for the opening 10 laps before falling back and settling for second.

The result saw him become the first back-to-back champion since Carl Fogarty in 1999.

Yamaha rider Sylvain Guintoli claimed the final place on the podium ahead of Tom Sykes (Kawasaki) and Nicky Hayden (Honda).

Davies continued his impressive end of season form by scoring his sixth consecutive win in the final encounter of the year.

In doing so, the Welshman is the first rider to win six races in a row since Troy Bayliss in 2006.

Sykes came through to finish second ahead of newly crowned champion Rea, which handed the former the runner-up spot in the championship.

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]