Russell fastest in second Australian GT practice

Lago Racing Lamborghini starred in Practice 2

Lago Racing Lamborghini starred in Practice 2

A late effort from David Russell put the Lago Racing Lamborghini on top in the second practice session at the inaugural Hampton Downs 101.

Russell posted a 1:30.72s in the final seconds of the 40 minute session to edge the Eggleston Motorsport Mercedes of Peter Hackett and Dominic Storey that had topped the majority of the hit-out.

The Lago Racing Lamborghini, piloted by Russell and Roger Lago, proved 0.1s quicker than the benchmark set by the Tony D’Alberto/Ash Samadi Audi R8 in opening practice.

Reigning Australian GT champion Christopher Mies and his co-driver Tony Bates were third fastest in the #1 Jamec Pem Racing Audi, while D’Alberto and Samadi were fourth just 0.45s shy of Russell.

The Kelly Racing Nissan GT-R, driven by Supercars driver Michael Caruso and GT Academy winner Matt Simmons, impressed in fifth.

Miedecke Stone Racing made it five marques inside the top six with the Andrew and George Miedecke Aston Martin Vantage GT3 in sixth, ahead of the Greg Taylor/Nathan Antunes Audi R8 and the Steven Richards/Max Twigg BMW M6.

The Garth Tander/Daniel Bilski Audi R8 and the John Martin/Duvashen Padayachee Walkinshaw Porsche rounded out the top 10.

Meanwhile, series leaders Nathan Morcom and Grant Denyer were 12th fastest in the Tekno Autosports McLaren 650S.

The Aston Martins of Tony Quinn/Greg Murphy and Tony Longhurst/Richard Moore were 14th and 17th respectively.

The session ran clean until six minutes from the end when the Danny Stutterd/Sam Fillmore Trass Family Motorsport Ferrari 458 brought out the red flags with an off on the circuit’s new section.

The Australian GT Championship returns on Saturday at 0850 local time for morning warm-up ahead of two qualifying sessions and a Top 10 Shootout.

Result: Australian GT Hampton Downs 101 Practice 2 Top 10


Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]