Whincup leads Red Bull one-two in Race 23

Whincup and Dumbrell scored victory

Whincup and Dumbrell scored victory

Jamie Whincup and Paul Dumbrell turned around a difficult Pirtek Enduro Cup campaign with victory in the final leg of the Castrol Gold Coast 600.

Putting a full stop on a tumultuous fortnight following another controversial Bathurst for the duo, Whincup led home team-mate Shane van Gisbergen to secure the win.

It marked the first endurance race win for Whincup and Dumbrell in two years after a series of near-misses.

“I was the co-driver today,” smiled Whincup, who trimmed Van Gisbergen’s championship lead by 12 points to 148.

“PD did 60 laps at the start that set the race up and I just finished it off.”

An early double-stack for co-driver Alex Premat put Van Gisbergen back in the pack, but it wasn’t enough to stop the Kiwi/French combo taking second and the Pirtek Enduro Cup.

Scott McLaughlin also charged through in the final stint after going off-sequence on strategy to take his second podium in as many days alongside David Wall.

Craig Lowndes/Steven Richards, Mark Winterbottom/Dean Canto and Chaz Mostert/Steve Owen completed the top six.

As was the case yesterday, the intervention of the Safety Car during the early stages complicated strategy for teams.

Contact between Richie Stanaway and Jack Perkins put the Super Black Ford out of business at Turn 4 on lap 16 of 102, triggering the full course yellows.

Dumbrell led the bulk of the field to pitlane, including team-mate Premat, who dropped six spots while double-stacked behind the sister car.

The Volvos of James Golding and Wall elected not to pit, leaping from sixth and 10th to first and second respectively.

It proved to be a bold call from GRM as, with some major fuel saving in the second stint, the leaders all proved able to make it through on just one more stop.

Once the second stops shook out with 40 laps to go, Whincup led Mostert, Winterbottom, Lowndes, Lee Holdsworth, Tim Slade and Van Gisbergen.

The Kiwi made quick work of his rivals, making it to second by lap 84, at which point he was five seconds adrift of Whincup.

Van Gisbergen halved the margin over the next five laps before a bad sportsmanship flag for overuse of the kerbs saw the Red Bull team call off his charge.

McLaughlin began his final stint in 10th before charging through, taking the final podium spot with what was arguably the pass of the season on Winterbottom at Turn 11.

The Volvo slid down the inside of the Ford with all four wheels locked, narrowly avoiding the inside fence in the process.

Winterbottom also lost fourth to Lowndes in the closing laps, while Mostert too struggled in the final stint as he dropped to sixth.

Seventh proved a breakthrough result for Holdsworth and co-driver Karl Reindler after a horror run through the Pirtek Enduro Cup.

Those hurt most by the early Safety Car proved to be the Nissans, which were forced into three-stop strategies thanks to their higher fuel consumption.

Caruso led a portion of the race thanks to a long third stint before eventually finishing ninth, trailing Slade’s Freightliner Holden to the flag.

Van Gisbergen and Premat’s only threat for the Pirtek Enduro Cup, Will Davison and Jonathon Webb, struck a major obstacle when they had to stack in the first pitstop.

Pitting again under the yellow for a fuel top-up, the Tekno Holden restarted 22nd and eventually finished 13th.

The David Reynolds/Craig Baird Holden had started third, but finished down in 20th after an early hit from Baird on Aaren Russell netted a drive-through penalty.

Result: Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Castrol Gold Coast 600 Race 23

1 Red Bull Racing Australia J.Whincup/P.Dumbrell Holden Commodore VF 102 02:09:10.5096
2 Red Bull Racing Australia S.Van Gisbergen/A.Premat Holden Commodore VF 102 02:09:19.5890
3 Wilson Security Racing GRM S.McLaughlin/D.Wall Volvo S60 102 02:09:24.6340
4 TeamVortex C.Lowndes/S.Richards Holden Commodore VF 102 02:09:25.1430
5 The Bottle-O Racing Team M.Winterbottom/D.Canto Ford Falcon FG/X 102 02:09:30.6188
6 Supercheap Auto Racing C.Mostert/S.Owen Ford Falcon FG/X 102 02:09:33.9987
7 Preston Hire Racing L.Holdsworth/K.Reindler Holden Commodore VF 102 02:09:34.8431
8 Freightliner Racing T.Slade/A.Walsh Holden Commodore VF 102 02:09:35.9274
9 Nissan Motorsport M.Caruso/D.Fiore Nissan Altima 102 02:09:40.1670
10 Holden Racing Team J.Courtney/J.Perkins Holden Commodore VF 102 02:09:51.1456
11 Holden Racing Team G.Tander/W.Luff Holden Commodore VF 102 02:09:53.3935
12 Wilson Security Racing GRM J.Moffat/J.Golding Volvo S60 102 02:09:54.2471
13 Team Darrell Lea STIX W.Davison/J.Webb Holden Commodore VF 102 02:09:54.8570
14 Monster Energy Racing C.Waters/J.Le Brocq Ford Falcon FG/X 102 02:10:02.8921
15 DJR Team Penske F.Coulthard/L.Youlden Ford Falcon FG/X 102 02:10:03.7975
16 Clipsal 500 Adelaide Racing N.Percat/C.McConville Holden Commodore VF 102 02:10:10.8355
17 Sengled Motorsport R.Kelly/R.Ingall Nissan Altima 102 02:10:12.8346
18 Team Cooldrive T.Blanchard/M.Jones Holden Commodore VF 102 02:10:14.0967
19 Team BOC J.Bright/A.Jones Holden Commodore VF 102 02:10:14.4735
20 Erebus Motorsport Penrite D.Reynolds/C.Baird Holden Commodore VF 102 02:10:15.0952
21 carsales Racing T.Kelly/M.Campbell Nissan Altima 101 02:09:51.2960
22 GB Galvanizing Racing D.Wood/D.Russell Nissan Altima 101 02:10:13.3734
23 DJR Team Penske S.Pye/T.D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG/X 101 02:10:22.2356
DNF Plus Fitness Racing Aaren Russell Holden Commodore VF  30    54:46.6208
DNF Super Black Racing Richie Stanaway Ford Falcon FG/X  14    17:19.5085

Championship Standings

1 Shane Van Gisbergen 2812
2 Jamie Whincup 2664
3 Craig Lowndes 2427
4 Scott McLaughlin 2351
5 Will Davison 2235
6 Mark Winterbottom 2139
7 Chaz Mostert 2039
8 Tim Slade 1986
9 Michael Caruso 1956
10 James Courtney 1808
11 Garth Tander 1795
12 Fabian Coulthard 1768
13 Rick Kelly 1593
14 Todd Kelly 1573
15 Scott Pye 1489
16 Jason Bright 1356
17 Cameron Waters 1296
18 Chris Pither 1249
19 David Reynolds 1237
20 Dale Wood 1231
21 Nick Percat 1211
22 James Moffat 1182
23 Tim Blanchard 1136
24 Lee Holdsworth 882
25 Andre Heimgartner 863
26 Alex Premat 840
27 Jonathon Webb 681
28 Aaren Russell 627
29 David Wall 602
30 Paul Dumbrell 555
31 Steven Richards 516
32 Steve Owen 504
33 Cameron McConville 483
34 Luke Youlden 468
35 Ash Walsh 468
36 Dean Fiore 444
37 Warren Luff 432
38 Tony D’Alberto 429
39 David Russell 405
40 Jack Perkins 374
41 Macauley Jones 360
42 Matthew Campbell 324
43 Richie Stanaway 324
44 Karl Reindler 309
45 Jack Le Brocq 303
46 Dean Canto 303
47 Shae Davies 294
48 Russell Ingall 252
49 Chris van der Drift 234
50 Craig  Baird 219
51 Andrew Jones 201
52 James Golding 180
53 Simona de Silvestro 126
54 Renee Gracie 126
55 Kurt Kostecki 108

Pirtek Enduro Cup Standings

Position Drivers Points
1 S van Gisbergen/ A Premat 840
2 W Davison/J Webb 681
3 S McLaughlin/D Wall 602
4 J Whincup/P Dumbrell 555
5 C Lowndes/S Richards 516
6 C Mostert/S Owen 504
7 N Percat/C McConville 483
8 F Coulthard/L Youlden 468
9 T Slade/A Walsh 468
10 M Caruso/D Fiore 444
11 G Tander/W Luff 432
12 S Pye/T D’Alberto 429
13 D Wood/D Russell 405
14 J Courtney/J Perkins 374
15 T Blanchard/M Jones 360
16 C Pither/R Stanaway 324
17 T Kelly/M Campbell 324
18 C Waters/J LeBrocq 303
19 M Winterbottom/D Canto 303
20 R Kelly/R Ingall 252
21 S Davies/C Van der Drift 234
22 L Holdsworth/K Reindler 234
23 J Bright/A Jones 201
24 J Moffat/J Golding 180
25 A Heimgartner/A Russell 162
26 D Reynolds/C Baird 147
27 S de Silvestro/R Gracie 126

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]