Hancock lifts fourth title as Holder wins home SGP


American Greg Hancock has claimed his fourth world title while Australia’s Chris Holder took victory in the Speedway World Championship at Etihad Stadium.

At 46 years of age, Hancock’s win in heat four saw him seal another crown, beating Tai Woffinden and Bartosz Zmarzlik.

It wasn’t without controversy though as Hancock’s night ended after his third ride.

He was disqualified from heat nine by the FIM Jury under rule 070.10.13, which states; “A rider, who, having started in a heat does not make an honest attempt to ride to the best of their ability, as judged by the referee, shall be guilty of an offence, which may entail disqualification from the heat or a penalty.”

The Swedish-based rider elected to withdraw from the remainder of the meeting while the FIM Jury opted to take no further action.

It left Holder to take victory in the final over Woffinden, Zmarzlik and Antonio Lindback.

Meanwhile Holder’s overall SGP win was his first in 43 rounds ending a route that had endured for more than four years.

Hancock paid tribute to Australian Jason Doyle who missed his chance at the title after suffering injuries at the previous round.

“It was fantastic to win it here in the Southern Hemisphere,” Hancock said.

“The Australian people deserve a lot of credit. Obviously they were missing Jason, which is a shame, but Chris won and what a great result.

“Chris’ year has been rough, so I’m just so happy for him. As it turned out, he worked hard from his first heat. He really, really worked hard.”

Hancock is now one of the top six riders of all time in terms of world title wins, pulling level on four with New Zealand icon Barry Briggs and Danish team manager Hans Nielsen.

Holder was delighted at taking the overall win on home soil which saw him take overall in the final points standings for the season, surpassing the injured Doyle.

“To be sitting here with the trophy in front of my home fans is amazing. It’s sweet,” Holder said.

“It’s something we dream about doing – all us Aussie guys. This is the best feeling in the world apart from being the champ.

“It has been a rough year off the bike, but on the bike, it has got better. I am looking forward to next year.”

Final world championship standings

Pos Rider Points
1 Greg Hancock 139
2 Tai Woffinden 130
3 Bartosz Zmarzlik 128
4 Chris Holder 126
5 Jason Doyle 123
6 Piotr Pawlicki 99
7 Antonio Lindback 93
8 Niels-Kristian Iversen 91
9 Matej Zagar 90
10 Maciej Janowski 90
11 Fredrik Lindgren 88
12 Peter Kildemand 68
13 Nicki Pedersen 62
14 Andreas Jonsson 52
15 Chris Harris 40
16 Michael Jepsen Jensen 31
17 Patryk Dudek 8
18 Martin Smolinski 8
19 Pawel Przedpelski 8
20 Danny King 7
21 Krzysztof Kasprzak 7
22 Anders Thomsen 5
23 Kim Nilsson 5
24 Peter Ljung 4
25 Vaclav Milik 3
26 Sam Masters 2
27 Tobias Kroner 2
28 Brady Kurtz 2
29 Jack Holder 2
30 Denis Stojs 1
31 Jacob Thorssell 1
32 Nick Skorja 1
33 Daniel Kaczmarek 1
34 Kacper Woryna 1


Australian Speedway Grand Prix points scores

Pos Rider Points
1 Chris Holder 17
2 Tai Woffinden 15
3 Bartosz Zmarzlik 15
4 Antonio Lindback 14
5 Niels-Kristian Iversen 12
6 Matej Zagar 11
7 Michael Jepsen Jensen 10
8 Piotr Pawlicki 8
9 Andreas Jonsson 6
10 Fredrik Lindgren 6
11 Greg Hancock 5
12 Maciej Janowski 5
13 Peter Kildemand 4
14 Chris Harris 4
15 Jack Holder 2
16 Sam Masters 2
17 Brady Kurtz 2
18 Max Fricke 0


Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]