D’Alberto leads Red Bulls in co-driver practice

Tony D'Alberto

Tony D’Alberto

Tony D’Alberto put Scott Pye’s DJR Team Penske Ford on top in the dedicated co-driver practice session at the Castrol Gold Coast 600.

D’Alberto, who is making his 100th Supercars event start this weekend, recorded a 1:11.77s with three of the 30 minutes remaining.

Paul Dumbrell subsequently slotted into second aboard Jamie Whincup’s Holden, 0.25s adrift of the Hogs Breath Falcon.

Dumbrell’s effort demoted team-mate Alex Premat to third ahead of Dean Fiore, Steve Owen, Dean Canto, Warren Luff, David Wall, Jack Perkins and Craig Baird.


D’Alberto admitted to have good tyres to run in the latter part of the session, stressing the importance of assisting Pye ahead of this afternoon’s final 30 minutes of running.

“We had some good rubber, but when you’ve only got three sessions it’s important to run good tyres so I can give Scott as much feedback as I can,” he said.

“We’ve still got work to do on the car. It’s lacking a lot of drive at the moment.”

Kerb hopping infringements were rife throughout the session.

Jonathon Webb and Richie Stanaway were the main offenders, each triggering the electronic sensors in the chicanes on 10 occasions.

“It’s really difficult here to know how much kerb to take,” said D’Alberto.

“You really have to guess and if you’re over-committed you get your time taken away.”

The session included a brief red-flag at its midway point after Ash Walsh nosed Tim Slade’s Freightliner Holden into the tyres at Turn 15.

Following closely behind, team-mate Macaluey Jones parked just short of the tyres as he reacted to avoid the stranded Walsh.

Another to strike trouble was Karl Reindler, who completed just five laps in the Team 18 Holden as the squad battled a sticking throttle.

The day’s final practice will take place from 1620 local time.

Result: Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Castrol Gold Coast 600 Practice 2

1 DJR Team Penske Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG/X 1:11.77
2 Red Bull Racing Australia Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VF 1:12.02 00.24
3 Red Bull Racing Australia Alexandre Premat Holden Commodore VF 1:12.21 00.44
4 Nissan Motorsport Dean Fiore Nissan Altima 1:12.25 00.47
5 Supercheap Auto Racing Steve Owen Ford Falcon FG/X 1:12.29 00.51
6 The Bottle-O Racing Team Dean Canto Ford Falcon FG/X 1:12.31 00.54
7 Holden Racing Team Warren Luff Holden Commodore VF 1:12.34 00.56
8 Wilson Security Racing GRM David Wall Volvo S60 1:12.43 00.66
9 Holden Racing Team Jack Perkins Holden Commodore VF 1:12.48 00.71
10 Erebus Motorsport Penrite Craig Baird Holden Commodore VF 1:12.49 00.72
11 TeamVortex Steven Richards Holden Commodore VF 1:12.58 00.80
12 Team Darrell Lea STIX Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VF 1:12.67 00.89
13 Monster Energy Racing Jack Le Brocq Ford Falcon FG/X 1:12.74 00.96
14 DJR Team Penske Luke Youlden Ford Falcon FG/X 1:12.89 01.12
15 Sengled Motorsport Russell Ingall Nissan Altima 1:12.89 01.12
16 Plus Fitness Racing Aaren Russell Holden Commodore VF 1:12.90 01.13
17 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Golding Volvo S60 1:12.92 01.15
18 carsales Racing Matthew Campbell Nissan Altima 1:13.01 01.23
19 Freightliner Racing Ashley Walsh Holden Commodore VF 1:13.15 01.37
20 Super Black Racing Richie Stanaway Ford Falcon FG/X 1:13.23 01.45
21 Erebus Motorsport Chris van der Drift Holden Commodore VF 1:13.32 01.54
22 Clipsal 500 Adelaide Racing Cameron McConville Holden Commodore VF 1:13.33 01.56
23 Preston Hire Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VF 1:13.38 01.60
24 GB Galvanizing Racing David Russell Nissan Altima 1:13.48 01.71
25 Team Cooldrive Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VF 1:13.53 01.75
26 Team BOC Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VF 1:14.37 02.60

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]