CAMS releases 2017 Nationals calendar

The Shannons Nationals will expand in 2017

The Shannons Nationals will expand in 2017

The Confederation of Australian Motor Sport has confirmed an expanded nine round Shannons Nationals calendar for 2017.

The national racing series will return to Wakefield Park (New South Wales) and Morgan Park (Queensland) as part of its increased schedule, which begins at Sandown from April 7-9.

Phillip Island has once again secured two spots on the calendar hosting the second and seventh rounds of the series.

Competitors will also visit Winton twice with rounds due to take place in June and August, while Sydney Motorsport Park and Queensland Raceway have retained their July and August slots respectively.

New additions Morgan Park and Wakefield Park will host the final two rounds of the season, with the date of the final round yet-to-be confirmed.

The opening round at Sandown and the trip to Sydney Motorsport Park collide with Supercars’ Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint and the Townsville 400.

Although announcing the calendar under the ‘CAMS National Racing Championships’ banner, a CAMS spokesman told that it expects insurance provider Shannons to continue its title sponsorship next year.

Shannons has sponsored the series since 2007, with its current deal due to expire at the end of this season.

“We are pleased to see the calendar expand to nine rounds in 2017, which will allow for more racing time for the categories competing at the Nationals next season,” said Nationals Director Michael Smith.

“To assist with affordability, the nine rounds will be a combination of traditional three day formats and the introduction of two day formats for some rounds.

“2016 has been a great season of racing so far, and we are always looking at ways we can improve the Nationals to make it one of the best and most affordable ways to compete in national level circuit racing in Australia.

“The Nationals will also celebrate its 100th round since its inception in 2006, so there is plenty to look forward to next year.”

Shannons Nationals 2017 Calendar 

Round 1: Sandown, 7-9 April
Round 2: Phillip Island, 26-28 May
Round 3: Winton, 9-11 June
Round 4: Sydney Motorsport Park, 7-9 July
Round 5: Queensland Raceway, 4-6 August
Round 6: Winton, 26-27 August
Round 7: Phillip Island, 8-10 September
Round 8: Morgan Park, 23-24 September
Round 9: Wakefield Park, (TBC November)

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]