Davison/Webb win controversial Bathurst 1000

Will Davison and Jonathon Webb took victory

Will Davison and Jonathon Webb took victory

Will Davison and Jonathon Webb have scored victory in a thrilling finish to the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000, despite trailing Jamie Whincup to the chequered flag.

Whincup and co-driver Paul Dumbrell dominated much of the race, but were dealt a 15-second post-race penalty with nine laps remaining.

The penalty came after Whincup bumped Scott McLaughlin wide at The Chase, subsequently taking the Volvo and Garth Tander out of the contest as he attempted to redress.

Whincup edged away at two subsequent restarts while Davison focussed on holding off Shane van Gisbegen in the second Red Bull Holden behind.

The Tekno Commodore took the flag 0.14s ahead to score the narrowest victory in the history of the Great Race.

“I’m honestly speechless,” said Davison after a battle with Van Gisbergen that saw them both being told to save fuel right until the end.

“That was so stressful. I knew if I lifted to save any more Shane was going to be in there.

“It coughed as I came around the last corner and ran out of fuel as I crossed the line.

“We started 17th but we knew we were quick. I can’t believe the way it panned out.”

Second for Van Gisbergen alongside co-driver Alex Premat extends his championship lead over Whincup, who was eventually classified 11th.

Whincup was left to apologise to the Volvo and Holden Racing Team outfits, although disagreed with the decision that he was at fault.

“I feel sorry for the result, you don’t want to see any wrecked cars,” he said.

“But I felt the move was on. I was in there, he squeezed me narrow and we had contact.

“I was happy to redress, but the two cars weren’t there to redress.”

Nick Percat scored his second Bathurst podium in three years after a faultless performance in the Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport Holden he shared with Cameron McConville.

The Fords of Cameron Waters/Jack Le Brocq, Scott Pye/Tony D’Alberto and Fabian Coulthard/Luke Youlden completed the top six.

Coulthard led the race with as few as 11 laps to go, but was always destined to require an extra fuel stop.

Tim Slade/Ash Walsh cleverly used the Safety Car interventions to recover from two laps down to finish seventh ahead of Michael Caruso/Dean Fiore, Dale Wood/David Russell and Tim Blanchard/Macauley Jones.

After a long spell of green flag running, the spate of Safety Cars began with a big crash for Andrew Jones at Sulman Park on lap 90, from which the driver emerged bruised but unscathed.

Subsequent yellows flew for James Moffat (engine failure, lap 109), Andre Heimgartner (transaxle failure, lap 113), Mark Winterbottom (off at Chase after brake failure, lap 133), the lap 150 McLaughlin/Tander clash and finally a single-car incident at Forrest’s Elbow for Rick Kelly on lap 157.

Todd Kelly speared into the gravel at The Chase after the final restart thanks to contact from James Courtney – an incident that was dealt with under local yellows.

Winterbottom and co-driver Dean Canto had been in contention all day prior to their demise, which has ended any realistic chance of the Ford driver retaining his Supercars title.

Furthering Prodrive’s woes was a throttle issue for its Chaz Mostert/Steve Owen entry that saw it finish 14 laps down in 19th place.

UPDATE: Red Bull Racing Australia has appealed Jamie Whincup’s 15 second post-race penalty.

CLICK HERE for Speedcafe.com’s full story.

Result: Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000

1 Team Darrell Lea STIX W.Davison/J.Webb Holden Commodore VF 161 06:19:25.3237
2 Red Bull Racing Australia S.Van Gisbergen/A.Premat Holden Commodore VF 161 06:19:25.4671
3 Clipsal 500 Adelaide Racing N.Percat/C.McConville Holden Commodore VF 161 06:19:28.1791
4 Monster Energy Racing C.Waters/J.Le Brocq Ford Falcon FG/X 161 06:19:28.5588
5 DJR Team Penske S.Pye/T.D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG/X 161 06:19:29.1452
6 DJR Team Penske F.Coulthard/L.Youlden Ford Falcon FG/X 161 06:19:29.3573
7 Freightliner Racing T.Slade/A.Walsh Holden Commodore VF 161 06:19:29.5205
8 Nissan Motorsport M.Caruso/D.Fiore Nissan Altima 161 06:19:31.4121
9 GB Galvanizing Racing D.Wood/D.Russell Nissan Altima 161 06:19:33.7070
10 Team Cooldrive T.Blanchard/M.Jones Holden Commodore VF 161 06:19:34.1824
11 Red Bull Racing Australia J.Whincup/P.Dumbrell Holden Commodore VF 161 06:19:35.0453
12 Super Black Racing C.Pither/R.Stanaway Ford Falcon FG/X 161 06:19:41.7680
13 Holden Racing Team J.Courtney/J.Perkins Holden Commodore VF 161 06:19:44.5725
14 Harvey Norman Supergirls S.De Silvestro/R.Gracie Nissan Altima 159 06:19:53.5762
15 Wilson Security Racing GRM S.McLaughlin/D.Wall Volvo S60 159 06:20:47.3552
16 TeamVortex C.Lowndes/S.Richards Holden Commodore VF 156 06:20:03.9974
17 Erebus Motorsport C.van der Drift/S.Davies Holden Commodore VF 156 06:20:09.9787
18 Erebus Motorsport Penrite D.Reynolds/C.Baird Holden Commodore VF 148 06:19:43.3515
19 Supercheap Auto Racing C.Mostert/S.Owen Ford Falcon FG/X 147 06:19:46.4808
DNF carsales Racing T.Kelly/M.Campbell Nissan Altima 157 06:10:59.0216
DNF Sengled Racing R.Kelly/R.Ingall Nissan Altima 156 06:07:19.2084
DNF Holden Racing Team G.Tander/W.Luff Holden Commodore VF 150 05:51:36.2942
DNF The Bottle-O Racing Team M.Winterbottom/D.Canto Ford Falcon FG/X 132 05:05:24.3018
DNF Plus Fitness Racing A.Heimgartner/A.Russell Holden Commodore VF 114 04:27:36.4694
DNF Wilson Security Racing GRM J.Moffat/J.Golding Volvo S60 108 04:02:08.5512
DNF Team BOC J.Bright/A.Jones Holden Commodore VF  89 03:18:12.2269
DNF Preston Hire Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF   2     4:45.9916

Championship Standings

1 Shane Van Gisbergen 2524
2 Jamie Whincup 2385
3 Craig Lowndes 2205
4 Will Davison 2112
5 Scott McLaughlin 2084
6 Mark Winterbottom 1908
7 Chaz Mostert 1853
8 Tim Slade 1824
9 Michael Caruso 1718
10 Fabian Coulthard 1708
11 James Courtney 1685
12 Garth Tander 1663
13 Rick Kelly 1497
14 Todd Kelly 1441
15 Scott Pye 1402
16 Jason Bright 1239
17 Cameron Waters 1233
18 David Reynolds 1192
19 Chris Pither 1171
20 Nick Percat 1154
21 Dale Wood 1096
22 Tim Blanchard 1022
23 James Moffat 1002
24 Andre Heimgartner 797
25 Lee Holdsworth 786
26 Aaron Russell 561
27 Jonathon Webb 558
28 Alex Premat 552
29 Cameron McConville 426
30 Luke Youlden 408
31 Tony D’Alberto 342
32 David Wall 335
33 Steve Owen 318
34 Ash Walsh 306
35 Dean Fiore 306
36 Warren Luff 300
37 Steven Richards 294
38 Paul Dumbrell 276
39 David Russell 270
40 Jack Perkins 251
41 Macauley Jones 246
42 Richie Stanaway 246
43 Shae Davies 246
44 Jack Le Brocq 240
45 Karl Reindler 213
46 Matt Campbell 192
47 Chris van der Drift 186
48 Craig Baird 174
49 Russell Ingall 156
50 Simona De Silvestro 126
51 Renee Gracie 126
52 Kurt Kostecki 108
53 Andrew Jones 84
54 Dean Canto 72
55 James Golding 0

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]