Second straight Carrera Cup win for Campbell

Matt Campbell was the class of the field in the Carrera Cup

Matt Campbell was the class of the field in the Carrera Cup

Matt Campbell has made it two-from-two with a dominant performance in the Carrera Cup at Mount Panorama.

Campbell got the jump off the start to head David Wall into Turn #1. Steve Richards slipped up the inside on the exit of the first turn and was able to move ahead of Wall on the run up Mountain Straight.

Richards was able to press Campbell over the opening laps, before slipping back into the clutches of Wall and also Alex Davison.

However, that battle and indeed the race was brought to a premature end when the Safety Car was called after Tag Heuer Carrera Challenge leader Shane Smollen collided with Daniel Stutterd at Forrest’s Elbow. Both cars were left stranded on the circuit on Lap #6 of #9.

The rest of race was run behind the Safety Car through to the finish

Smollen’s demise in the semi-professional category seemed to be a gift for James Bergmuller. However, he had to slow to avoid the Smollen/Stuttered collision and this gave Tony Bates a great run onto Conrod Straight. Bates, who yesterday hit the fence, got through before officials called the Safety Car

Today’s race also marked a milestone for series veteran Marc Cini who made his 250th race start in the series. The popular member of the Carrera Cup fraternity finished 16th.

The final race of the Carrera Cup will be the curtain raiser to the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 at 9.30am Sunday morning.

VIDEO: Campbell, Bates and Cini speak after the race

RESULTS: Race 2 – Carrera Cup : Mount Panorama

Pos No. Driver Team Class
1 7 Matt Campbell Nuveau Constructions / Phase 8  P
2 12 Steven Richards Laser Plumbing and Electrical  P
3 38 David Wall Wilson Security  P
4 25 Alex Davison Wilson Parking  P
5 777 Ash Walsh Bob Jane T-Marts / Infants Friend  P
6 77 Nick McBride Bob Jane T-Marts  P
7 21 Garth Walden CIP/GWR  P
8 26 Michael Almond Copyworld  P
9 8 Dean Fiore Saint/Porsche Centre Melbourne  P
10 54 James Abela Horsley Park Gunshop  P
11 88 Dylan O’Keeffe Allstar Equipment / Dexion Supplies  P
12 45 Duvashen Padayachee Darrell Lea STIX  P
13 24 Tony Bates Moveitnet / C Tech Laser  C
14 13 James Bergmuller  C
15 222 Scott Taylor Scott Taylor Motorsport  C
16 9 Marc Cini Hallmarc  C
17 39 Adrian Mastronardo Veritas Porperty Group  C
18 18 Max Twigg DNA Racing/Beyond Blue  G
DNF 32 Daniel Stutterd DJS Racing  G
DNF 56 Shane Smollen McGrath Estate Agents  C
DNF 4 Stephen Grove Grove Hire C



Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]