Dumbrell secures Bathurst Dunlop Series hat-trick

Paul Dumbrell

Paul Dumbrell

Paul Dumbrell has taken his third consecutive victory in the Dunlop Series 250km mini enduro following an eventful encounter at Mount Panorama.

The Eggleston Motorsport driver made the most of a strong start to jump pole-sitter Garry Jacobson to the lead on the opening lap, which he held until pitting under the Safety Car on lap 10.

The early visit to the pitlane forced Dumbrell into a two stop strategy which proved to be a smart move.

After strong middle stint and a short fuel stop, Dumbrell eventually returned to the lead on lap 37 of 41 as the field completed their pit stops.

The Dunlop Series veteran, who had earlier built up a 7.5s lead, went on to take the victory by 11.3s from Jacobson, while rookie Anton De Pasquale provided an impressive drive to third.

Dumbrell’s victory didn’t arrive without issue as an electrical problem hampered him in the early laps, before a fan managed to tap into his radio frequency during the race.

The Holden driver also ran wide at Turn 1 following his second stop.

A second place finish for Jacobson boosted his championship lead as he mirrored Dumbrell’s pit strategy following a slow start that dropped him third.

A strong surge in the final laps saw Jacobson snatch second spot at The Chase from De Pasquale, who found himself in a strong position after electing to pit twice under the Safety Car.

De Pasquale managed to stretch his fuel to the finish to take third, his best result to date in the Dunlop Series.

The maiden podium came after a mid-race crash at Murrays corner when he made contact with Kurt Kostecki while fighting over the fringes of the top 10.

However, the most dramatic moment of the encounter came when rookie Jack Smith suffered a high speed crash at The Dipper that brought out the Safety Car.

The Paul Morris Motorsport driver locked up at the Esses which fired him hard into the inside wall and then across the track into the outside wall, severely damaging his Falcon.

Luckily the 17-year-old Smith was able to walk away from the incident to the medical car.

Garry Rogers Motorsport driver Richard Muscat came through to finish a strong fourth ahead of Shae Davies, who led the the race until his final stop in latter stages.

Todd Hazelwood was left to rue a stall in pit lane that robbed him of a likely podium chance as he finished in sixth.

The Matt Stone Racing driver would have rejoined close behind Dumbrell if he hadn’t been slow away from the pits.

Jack Le Brocq was unable to make a one stop strategy pay off in seventh after choosing not to pit under the Safety Car.

The top 10 was completed by Andrew Jones, Macauley Jones and Taz Douglas, who shared his Eggelston Motorsport Commodore with Grant Denyer.

Meanwhile, James Golding’s rough weekend continued with a retirement when he clouted the wall with his front right at McPhillamy on lap six.

The Garry Rogers Motorsport driver, who crashed the GRM #34 Volvo in Practice 2 on Thursday, wrecked his front right suspension.

“It was not what we wanted,” said Golding, who was holding ninth spot at the time of the crash.

“I got a bit of aero wash from the car in front and hit the wall. I’m really disappointed for the team but hopefully we can have a better day tomorrow.”

Chelsea Angelo finished two laps down in 20th after an eventful afternoon.

The Matt White Motorsport driver made contact with Matt Chahda that bent her steering early in the race, before then receiving two drive-through penalties for pitlane infringements.

Jacobson has opened up a 151 point lead over Le Brocq ahead of the Dunlop Series finale at Sydney Olympic Park from December 2-4.

Result: Dunlop Series 250km Mini Enduro 

1 Eggleston Motorsport Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VE2 40 01:35:11.7401
2 Challenger Valve Racing Garry Jacobson Ford Falcon FG/X 40 01:35:23.0519
3 Paul Morris Motrosports Anton de Pasquale Ford Falcon FG 40 01:35:24.4127
4 Wilson Security PAYCE GRM Richard Muscat Holden Commodore VF 40 01:35:24.6857
5 DavBridge Construction / MWM Shae Davies Ford Falcon FG 40 01:35:32.6077
6 iSEEK Communications Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore VF 40 01:35:34.5351
7 GoGetta Racing Jack Le Brocq Ford Falcon FG/X 40 01:35:35.0288
8 Alliance Truck Parts Racing Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VF 40 01:35:41.4226
9 PAYCE Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VF 40 01:35:41.8298
10 Eggleston Motorsport T.Douglas/G.Denyer Holden Commodore VE2 40 01:36:01.4437
11 STR Towing Equipment M.Palmer/D.Russell Ford Falcon FG 40 01:36:28.9435
12 Middys Electrical / MWM Bryce Fullwood Ford Falcon FG 40 01:36:32.3518
13 Auto One Adam Marjoram Ford Falcon FG 40 01:36:51.6690
14 Kostecki Brothers Racing Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 40 01:37:08.9359
15 Wynns Racing Josh Kean Holden Commodore VF 39 01:35:40.7609
16 Castrol Racing/Performance Wes Alex Rullo Holden Commodore VF 39 01:35:41.2876
17 Image Racing Ryal Harris Ford Falcon FG 39 01:36:15.5702
18 Cavalier Homes Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG 39 01:36:22.1601
19 Kostecki Brothers Racing Jake Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 39 01:36:24.3216
20 Wilson Medic One / MWM Chelsea Angelo Ford Falcon FG 36 01:36:02.6754
DNF Paul Morris Motorsports Jack Smith Ford Falcon FG  9    20:16.7728
DNF Wilson Security PAYCE GRM James Golding Holden Commodore VF  6    14:07.0740

Dunlop Series Standings

1 Garry Jacobson 1516
2 Jack Le Brocq 1350
3 Paul Dumbrell 1216
4 Todd Hazelwood 1169
5 James Golding 1128
6 Shae Davies 1100
7 Taz Douglas 1072
8 Andrew Jones 1062
9 Macauley Jones 1027
10 Richard Muscat  950
11 Anton de Pasquale  856
12 Josh Kean  777
13 Adam Marjoram  749
14 Kurt Kostecki  733
15 Mathew Palmer  655
16 Bryce Fullwood  589
17 Jake Kostecki  560
18 Alex Rullo  554
19 Matthew Chahda  513
20 Chelsea Angelo  485
21 Renee Gracie  468
22 Liam McAdam  442
23 Dan Day  249
24 Marcus Zukanovic  198
25 Steve Owen  192
26 Jesse Dixon  168
27 Grant Denyer  156
28 Drew Russell  144
29 Adam Wallis  111
30 Dean Fiore  110
31 Ryal Harris  108
32 Garry Hill   78
33 Jack Smith    0

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]