Whincup takes provisional Bathurst pole

Jamie Whincup

Jamie Whincup

Jamie Whincup survived a fast finish from Scott McLaughlin to take provisional pole for the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000.

The Red Bull driver demoted Chaz Mostert from the top of the order with two of the 40 minutes remaining, recording the fastest time of the weekend to date with 2:05.048s.

McLaughlin and Tim Slade demoted Mostert to fourth in the dying seconds, falling 0.10s and 0.14s short of Whincup respectively.

“That was really, really good fun,” said Whincup.

“New tyres on a good car at this place lets you know you’re alive, that’s for sure. The car is obviously in the window.

“I thought we were going to go quicker but the sun came out which heated the track up.

“But the number doesn’t mean anything, it’s all about the position and I’m very happy to be on provisional pole.”

Mostert, Fabian Coulthard, Shane van Gisbergen, Mark Winterbottom, Scott Pye, Garth Tander and Michael Caruso will complete the field for tomorrow’s Top 10 Shootout.

Whincup had set the early pace before the red flags flew 14 minutes in when Shae Davies beached his Erebus Holden at The Chase.

Mostert, Winterbottom and McLaughlin all eclipsed Whincup in the brief period of green flag running before a second red flag, this time for Simona de Silvestro.

The Swiss also came unstuck at The Chase and, like Davies, was forced to sit out the remainder of the session under the red flag rules.

Big names to miss the Shootout include James Courtney (16th), Will Davison (17th) and Craig Lowndes (21st).

“I didn’t do a clean job but the car wasn’t perfect either,” said Lowndes.

“I think between all of us we didn’t get the best out of it.

“But we would have struggled to get in the top 10 to be honest, we’ve been struggling with the car all weekend.

“We made a change for that session which made it nervous in the rear across the top and that doesn’t give you confidence.

“I actually smacked the wall on that last run trying to get everything out of it.”

A final practice session will take place at 1010 tomorrow ahead of the Top 10 Shootout at 1710.

Result: Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 Qualifying

1 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 2:05.04
2 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 2:05.15 00.10
3 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 2:05.18 00.13
4 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 2:05.20 00.15
5 DJR Team Penske Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG/X 2:05.22 00.18
6 Red Bull Racing Australia Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 2:05.23 00.18
7 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 2:05.33 00.29
8 DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X 2:05.46 00.41
9 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 2:05.58 00.53
10 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 2:05.59 00.54
11 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 2:05.66 00.61
12 Super Black Racing Chris Pither Ford Falcon FG/X 2:05.68 00.63
13 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 2:05.79 00.74
14 Erebus Motorsport Penrite David Reynolds Holden Commodore VF 2:05.83 00.79
15 Preston Hire Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 2:05.94 00.89
16 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 2:05.99 00.94
17 Team Darrell Lea STIX Will Davison Holden Commodore VF 2:05.99 00.94
18 GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Nissan Altima 2:06.03 00.98
19 carsales Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 2:06.05 01.00
20 Sengled Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 2:06.18 01.13
21 TeamVortex Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 2:06.22 01.18
22 Clipsal 500 Adelaide Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 2:06.27 01.22
23 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Moffat Volvo S60 2:06.27 01.22
24 Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 2:06.45 01.40
25 Plus Fitness Racing Andre Heimgartner Holden Commodore VF 2:07.11 02.06
26 Harvey Norman Supergirls Simona De Silvestro Nissan Altima 2:09.66 04.62
27 Erebus Motorsport Shae Davies Holden Commodore VF 2:19.38 14.33

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]