Jacobson secures Dunlop Series Bathurst pole

Garry Jacobson

Garry Jacobson

Garry Jacobson will start the Dunlop Series 250km mini enduro from pole position after an impressive display in an interrupted qualifying session at Mount Panorama.

The Prodrive Ford driver climbed to the top of the times at the halfway point when he posted an impressive 2:06.53s effort, resetting the category qualifying lap record in the process.

Eggleston Motorsport’s Paul Dumbrell responded immediately, but fell just 0.2s shy of the Dunlop Series leader.

Shortly after his lap the session was red flagged with eight minutes remaining after Matthew Palmer’s Ford Falcon caught fire.

Palmer lost control through McPhillamy Park resulting in a heavy hit with the wall.

Flames erupted from the right rear corner of the car which forced him to stop at Skyline where he climbed out of the cockpit.

Matthew Palmer's burning Falcon

Matthew Palmer’s burning Falcon

Qualifying resumed after marshals cleared the debris from the incident, but the order remained unchanged to the chequered flag.

Macauley Jones and Shae Davies will share the second row having both enjoyed brief spells at the top of the times.

Garry Rogers Motorsport’s James Golding was fifth fastest ahead of title contender Jack Le Brocq, who struggled to match his Prodrive team-mate Jacobson, ending the hit out 0.6s adrift of the pace.

Todd Hazelwood (Matt Stone Racing), Andrew Jones (Brad Jones Racing), Taz Douglas (Eggleston Motorsport) and Richard Muscat rounded out the top 10.

The 41-lap Dunlop Series 250km encounter  is scheduled for Saturday at 1405 local time.

Result: Dunlop Series Qualifying

1 Challenger Valve Racing Garry Jacobson Ford Falcon FG/X 2:06.53
2 Eggleston Motorsport Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VE2 2:06.76 00.23
3 PAYCE Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VF 2:06.97 00.44
4 DavBridge Construction / MWM Shae Davies Ford Falcon FG 2:07.11 00.58
5 Wilson Security PAYCE GRM James Golding Holden Commodore VF 2:07.12 00.59
6 GoGetta Racing Jack Le Brocq Ford Falcon FG/X 2:07.13 00.60
7 iSEEK Communications Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore VF 2:07.50 00.97
8 Alliance Truck Parts Racing Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VF 2:07.62 01.09
9 Eggleston Motorsport Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE2 2:08.01 01.48
10 Wilson Security PAYCE GRM Richard Muscat Holden Commodore VF 2:08.02 01.49
11 Wynns Racing Josh Kean Holden Commodore VF 2:08.20 01.67
12 Paul Morris Motrosports Anton de Pasquale Ford Falcon FG 2:08.31 01.78
13 Kostecki Brothers Racing Jake Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 2:08.78 02.25
14 Image Racing Ryal Harris Ford Falcon FG 2:08.88 02.35
15 Middys Electrical / MWM Bryce Fullwood Ford Falcon FG 2:08.97 02.44
16 Wilson Medic One / MWM Chelsea Angelo Ford Falcon FG 2:09.12 02.59
17 Auto One Adam Marjoram Ford Falcon FG 2:09.16 02.63
18 Castrol Racing/Performance West Alex Rullo Holden Commodore VF 2:09.40 02.87
19 Kostecki Brothers Racing Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 2:09.47 02.94
20 Cavalier Homes Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG 2:11.16 04.63
21 Paul Morris Motorsports Jack Smith Ford Falcon FG 2:11.49 04.96
22 STR Towing Equipment Mathew Palmer Ford Falcon FG 2:14.25 07.71


Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]