Ricciardo wins in Sepang after Hamilton failure

Daniel Ricciardo leads team-mate Max Verstappen home

Daniel Ricciardo leads team-mate Max Verstappen home

Daniel Ricciardo scored his fourth career Formula 1 win after fending off Red Bull team-mate Max Verstappen in the closing laps of a dramatic Malaysian Grand Prix.

The Australian held second spot for the majority of the race before he inherited the lead when long time leader Lewis Hamilton suffered an engine failure on lap 41.

Hamilton seemed on course to complete a comfortable victory having built an 18 second lead as the race ticked into the final quarter.

The Mercedes driver had earlier taken full advantage of an opening lap collision involving title rival Nico Rosberg, Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel and Verstappen to open up an advantage over Ricciardo.

The Brit’s engine failure caused a Virtual Safety Car period which saw the Red Bulls of Ricciardo and Verstappen, who had been fighting over second place, pit for soft tyres.

Verstappen appeared to have the advantage on the Australian prior to the stop having made two previous pitstops leaving the Dutchman with fresher rubber.

However, in a straight fight to the flag Ricciardo held his nerve to take the victory by 2.4s from Verstappen with Nico Rosberg third after fighting back from a spin and a 10 second penalty.

“It was a race of challenges as Lewis got the lead and then had his problems,” said Ricciardo, who marked the victory with his customary ‘shoey’ celebration on the podium.

“It went the other way in Monaco but I will take this today. It has been a pretty emotional two years since the last win as we have come so close this year.

“I’m extremely grateful for this, it is overwhelming to say the least.”

Rosberg produced an impressive comeback drive after he was turned around by Vettel at Turn 1 on the opening lap.

The Ferrari driver dived down the inside of Verstappen at the start which saw the pair touch before further contact with Rosberg.

The incident saw Vettel retire while the incident was set to be investigated by the stewards after the race.

Rosberg quickly brought himself back into contention but he then suffered a 10 second penalty for contact with Raikkonen while battling over third at Turn 2 late in the race.

The body blow for Hamilton on lap 41 has allowed Rosberg to open up his championship lead to 23 points.

Raikkonen managed to bring the sole Ferrari home in fourth, while Valtteri Bottas progressed from 11th to fifth at the finish for Williams.

Sergio Perez boosted Force India’s points tally in sixth ahead of McLaren’s Fernando Alonso who scythed his way from the back of the grid to seventh.

The top 10 was completed by Nico Hulkenberg (Force India), Jenson Button (McLaren) and Jolyon Palmer, who recorded his maiden points finish for Renault.

Meanwhile, Romain Grosjean joined the list of retirements for the second race in succession when he suffered a brake failure that fired him into the gravel trap at the final corner.

The incident caused the second Virtual Safety Car period of the race.

His team-mate Esteban Gutierrez also failed to finish when he lost his front left wheel in a bizarre incident.

Kevin Magnussen retired his Renault with a mechanical problem along with the Sauber of Felipe Nasr.

Result: Formula 1 Malaysian Grand Prix 

Position Driver Car Laps/Gap
1 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull/Renault 56 Laps
2 Max Verstappen Red Bull/Renault +2.44s
3 Nico Rosberg Mercedes +25.51
4 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari +28.78
5 Valtteri Bottas Williams/Mercedes +1:01.58
6 Sergio Perez Force India/Mercedes +1:03.79
7 Fernando Alonso McLaren/Honda +1:05.20
8 Nico Hulkenberg Force India/Mercedes +1:14.06
9 Jenson Button McLaren/Honda +1:21.81
10 Jolyon Palmer Renault +1:35.46
11 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso/Ferrari +1:38.87
12 Marcus Ericsson Sauber/Ferrari +1 Lap
13 Felipe Massa Williams/Mercedes +1 Lap
14 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso/Ferrari +1 Lap
15 Pascal Wehrlein Manor/Mercedes +1 Lap
16 Esteban Ocon Manor/Mercedes +1 Lap
DNF Felipe Nasr Sauber/Ferrari Retirement
DNF Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Engine
DNF Esteban Gutierrez Haas/Ferrari Retirement
DNF Kevin Magnussen Renault Retirement
DNF Romain Grosjean Haas/Ferrari Brakes
DNF Sebastian Vettel Ferrari Collision

Championship Standings

Position Driver Points
1 Nico Rosberg 288
2 Lewis Hamilton 265
3 Daniel Ricciardo 204
4 Kimi Raikkonen 160
5 Sebastian Vettel 153
6 Max Verstappen 147
7 Valtteri Bottas 80
8 Sergio Perez 74
9 Nico Hulkenberg 50
10 Fernando Alonso 42
11 Felipe Massa 41
12 Carlos Sainz 30
13 Romain Grosjean 28
14 Daniil Kvyat 25
15 Jenson Button 19
16 Kevin Magnussen 7
17 Jolyon Palmer 1
18 Pascal Wehrlein 1
19 Stoffel Vandoorne 1
20 Esteban Gutierrez 0
21 Marcus Ericsson 0
22 Felipe Nasr 0
23 Rio Haryanto 0
24 Esteban Ocon 0

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]