Golding cruises to win hectic Dunlop Series Race 3

James Golding

James Golding

James Golding mastered tricky damp conditions to win a hectic final Dunlop Series race at Sandown.

The Garry Rogers Motorsport driver made the most of his decision to fit slick tyres for the race which began on a damp but drying track.

Golding quickly surged from sixth on the grid to the lead on lap five with a pass on Kurt Kostecki.

Kostecki had led the opening four laps having leapt to the front at the start by utilising his wet tyres on the slippery track surface.

However, as the race progressed slick tyres became the ideal rubber which allowed Golding to storm to the front.

Once ahead, Golding cruised to the chequered flag despite rain falling towards the end of the 20 lap heat.

The slick shod Jack Le Brocq (Prodrive Racing Australia) managed to leap from 20th to second, while Shae Davies completed the podium.

Le Brocq’s rise to second didn’t happen without controversy as contact with Taz Douglas at Turn 6 saw the latter slam into the barriers on lap five.

Douglas was able to bring the car back to the pits and into retirement. The incident was to be investigated by the stewards after the race.

Davies enjoyed a strong run inside the top-five throughout before coming home in third ahead of Todd Hazelwood.

Hazelwood had run as high as second earlier in the race having passed Davies for the position.

However, the Matt Stone Racing driver’s hard work was undone by a mistake at Turn 4, which dropped him to fourth where he stayed for the remaining laps.

Series leader Garry Jacobson finished fifth having decided to sacrifice his fourth spot in the early laps to pit for slick tyres under an opening lap Safety Car.

The stoppage was caused by contact between Anton de Pasquale and Chelsea Angelo at Turn 2.

Jacobson’s fifth place finish saw him secure the round win from Davies and Richard Muscat.

Teenager Alex Rullo came home in sixth in the Castrol-backed Commodore ahead of Muscat, Adam Marjoram and Macauley Jones.

Early leader Kurt Kostecki salvaged 10th spot after recovering from a mid-race clash with his brother Jake Kostecki, who finished in 11th.

Andrew Jones ended the day in 12th position despite incurring a penalty for using prohibited pit equipment while changing tyres.

Paul Dumbrell was mired down in 19th spot after his day was ruined by a spin following contact with Renee Gracie.

The Eggleston Motorsport ran second on the opening lap before diving into the pits for slicks.

Bryce Fullwood and Matt Chahda failed to make the start following Saturday’s huge multiple car crash in Race 2.

Jacobson leads the Dunlop Series standings by 67 points from team-mate Le Brocq ahead of the penultimate round at Bathurst from October 6-9.

Result: Dunlop Series Race 3

1 Wilson Security PAYCE GRM James Golding Holden Commodore VF 20 27:05.7388
2 GoGetta Racing Jack Le Brocq Ford Falcon FG/X 20 27:08.0921
3 DavBridge Constructions /MWM Shae Davies Ford Falcon FG 20 27:10.8855
4 iSEEK Communications Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore VF 20 27:12.3553
5 Challenger Valve Racing Garry Jacobson Ford Falcon FG/X 20 27:22.5931
6 Castrol Racing/Performance Wes Alex Rullo Holden Commodore VF 20 27:31.6198
7 Wilson Security PAYCE GRM Richard Muscat Holden Commodore VF 20 27:37.5146
8 Auto One Adam Marjoram Ford Falcon FG 20 27:39.7134
9 PAYCE Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VF 20 27:44.5080
10 Kostecki Brothers Racing Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 20 27:52.3432
11 Kostecki Brothers Racing Jake Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 20 27:53.1911
12 Alliance Truck Parts Racing Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VF 20 28:06.1203
13 Wynn’s Racing Josh Kean Holden Commodore VF 20 28:07.0952
14 Paul Morris Motrosports Anton de Pasquale Ford Falcon FG 20 28:08.8702
15 Eggleston Motorsport Liam McAdam Holden Commodore VE2 20 28:14.9977
16 STR Towing Equipment Mathew Palmer Ford Falcon FG 19 27:36.5256
17 Team Caltex Renee Gracie Ford Falcon FG 19 27:43.3265
18 LMF Constructions Marcus Zukanovic Ford Falcon FG 19 27:48.7932
19 Eggleston Motorsport Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VE2 18 27:59.1388
20 Wilson Medic One / MWM Chelsea Angelo Ford Falcon FG 16 27:14.8747
DNF Eggleston Motorsport Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE2  4  7:45.8997

Championship Standings

1 Garry Jacobson 1240
2 Jack Le Brocq 1173
3 James Golding 1128
4 Todd Hazelwood  965
5 Paul Dumbrell  916
6 Taz Douglas  916
7 Andrew Jones  882
8 Shae Davies  878
9 Macauley Jones  859
10 Richard Muscat  710
11 Josh Kean  657
12 Adam Marjoram  617
13 Kurt Kostecki  607
14 Anton de Pasquale  598
15 Mathew Palmer  511
16 Renee Gracie  468
17 Jake Kostecki  464
18 Bryce Fullwood  451
19 Matthew Chahda  449
20 Liam McAdam  442
21 Alex Rullo  440
22 Chelsea Angelo  395
23 Dan Day  249
24 Marcus Zukanovic  198
25 Steve Owen  192
26 Jesse Dixon  168
27 Adam Wallis  111
28 Dean Fiore  110
29 Garry Hill   78

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]