Whincup/Dumbrell secure Sandown 500 pole

Whincup leads Tander

Whincup leads Tander

Jamie Whincup and Paul Dumbrell have secured pole position at the Wilson Security Sandown 500 for a third consecutive year.

Starting from pole thanks to Dumbrell’s effort in the co-driver sprint, Whincup repeated the dose by leading all 20 laps of the primary driver encounter.

While Dumbrell had won at a canter, Garth Tander at least kept the six-time champion honest, taking the flag just 1.2s adrift.

“We were pushed pretty hard by the HRT boys, so they’re going to be pretty hard to beat tomorrow,” said Whincup.


Tander was encouraged by the speed of his Holden and co-driver Warren Luff, who finished the early heat in third.

“We’ve got a couple of things we’ll tune for tomorrow but I’m really happy to have moved forward in both qualifying races,” he said.

Volvo twins Scott McLaughlin and James Moffat lock out the second row for tomorrow’s race after benefiting from a tangle between Fabian Coulthard and Shane van Gisbergen.

Coulthard held third until a dive from his fellow Kiwi at Turn 9 saw the Penske Ford bumped wide, dropping back to eighth.

Van Gisbergen slowed to let the Kiwi back by, only for Coulthard to back off a short time later, performing his own redress after a separate clash with Will Davison.

“I just mucked up,” admitted Van Gisbergen of his tangle with Coulthard.

“I was far enough inside but just had four wheels on the kerb.

“I’m sure he’ll complain, get on Twitter and all that stuff but it’s all good.”

Coulthard later expressed his displeasure over both Van Gisbergen’s move and the process of drivers’ being able to redress incidents mid-race.

“It’s a little bit unfair, it’s a half-arsed manoeuvre and then all you have to do is drop in behind the car that you sent off the road,” he said.

“I kind of don’t agree with it. Sometimes it works for you and sometimes it doesn’t.”

Chaz Mostert rose through the drama to fifth, marking a solid recovery after a poor start and running wide at Turn 1 saw the Supercheap Ford drop to the back of the top 10.

Mostert’s Turn 1 rejoin caused a three-wide squeeze with James Moffat and Cameron Waters that saw the Volvo elbow the Monster Ford off the circuit.

Waters was subsequently stuck in the wet grass, triggering a Safety Car to retrieve the rookie.

Sixth through 10th at the flag were filled by James Courtney, Van Gisbergen, Tim Slade, Michael Caruso and Davison.

Davison had been third at the early restart but struggled for speed throughout, losing four places in just half a lap mid-race.

Coulthard’s eventful race ended in P11 ahead of Craig Lowndes, who had started just 18th after Steven Richards’ drama in the opening sprint.

Scott Pye and Mark Winterbottom proved unable to make significant headway from their lowly starting slots, taking the flag 21st and 22nd respectively.

Chris Pither was 24th having started last after the Super Black Ford was disqualified for breaching the minimum tyre pressure rule in the co-driver sprint.

Result: Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Wilson Security Sandown 500 Qualifying Race 2

1 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 20 27:21.7293
2 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 20 27:23.0100
3 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 20 27:23.9989
4 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Moffat Volvo S60 20 27:30.9974
5 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 20 27:32.0877
6 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 20 27:34.7319
7 Red Bull Racing Australia Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 20 27:37.6239
8 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 20 27:38.1976
9 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 20 27:39.1020
10 Team Darrell Lea STIX Will Davison Holden Commodore VF 20 27:39.4318
11 DJR Team Penske Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG/X 20 27:39.7970
12 TeamVortex Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 20 27:40.5922
13 Repair Management Aust Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 20 27:41.1798
14 Sengled Motorsport Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 20 27:41.3798
15 Preston Hire Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 20 27:42.0242
16 Plus Fitness Racing Andre Heimgartner Holden Commodore VF 20 27:45.0506
17 Erebus Motorsport Penrite David Reynolds Holden Commodore VF 20 27:46.5228
18 carsales Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 20 27:46.9257
19 Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 20 27:48.5817
20 GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Nissan Altima 20 27:48.9738
21 DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X 20 27:49.4258
22 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 20 27:50.0339
23 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 20 27:50.0856
24 Super Black Racing Chris Pither Ford Falcon FG/X 20 27:50.4885
25 Erebus Motorsport Shae Davies Holden Commodore VF 20 27:51.0699
26 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 18 28:06.1923

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]