Jacobson snatches Dunlop Series pole

Garry Jacobson

Garry Jacobson

A last gasp effort earned Garry Jacobson pole position for the opening Dunlop Series race of the Sandown 500 weekend.

The Prodrive Racing Australia driver produced a new lap record with a 1:09.73 effort to pip his team-mate and title rival Jack Le Brocq.

Practice pacesetter and series leader Le Brocq appeared on course for pole prior to Jacobson’s lap, which left him to settle for second just 0.03s adrift.

Todd Hazelwood continued his strong showing by claiming third on the grid in the Matt Stone Racing Holden Commodore.

Shae Davies completed the second row as he edged Garry Rogers Motorsport’s Richard Muscat, Paul Dumbrell (Eggleston Motorsport) and rookie Anton De Pasquale, who impressed in his Falcon FG.

James Golding (Garry Rogers Motorsport), Darwin teenager Bryce Fullwood and Andrew Jones (Brad Jones racing) rounded out the top 10.

Eggleston Motorsport team-mates Taz Douglas and Liam McAdam and Paul Morris Motorsport’s Renee Gracie all endured excursions at Turn 1.

Douglas recovered to qualify in 13th spot with McAdam 19th and Gracie in 22nd.

Returning Dunlop Series driver Chelsea Angelo ended the session 17th on debut for Matt White Motorsport.

Result: Dunlop Series Qualifying

1 Challenger Valve Racing Garry Jacobson Ford Falcon FG/X 1:09.73
2 GoGetta Racing Jack Le Brocq Ford Falcon FG/X 1:09.77 00.03
3 iSEEK Communications Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore VF 1:09.86 00.12
4 DavBridge Constructions /MWM Shae Davies Ford Falcon FG 1:09.96 00.22
5 Wilson Security PAYCE GRM Richard Muscat Holden Commodore VF 1:09.99 00.25
6 Eggleston Motorsport Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VE 1:10.01 00.28
7 Paul Morris Motrosports Anton de Pasquale Ford Falcon FG 1:10.02 00.28
8 Wilson Security PAYCE GRM James Golding Holden Commodore VF 1:10.16 00.42
9 Middy’s Electrical /MWM Bryce Fullwood Ford Falcon FG 1:10.22 00.49
10 Alliance Truck Parts Racing Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VF 1:10.30 00.57
11 PAYCE Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VF 1:10.32 00.58
12 Wynn’s Racing Josh Kean Holden Commodore VF 1:10.40 00.66
13 Eggleston Motorsport Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE 1:10.41 00.67
14 Kostecki Brothers Racing Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 1:10.45 00.71
15 Auto One Adam Marjoram Ford Falcon FG 1:10.68 00.94
16 Castrol Racing/Performance Wes Alex Rullo Holden Commodore VF 1:10.76 01.03
17 Wilson Medic One / MWM Chelsea Angelo Ford Falcon FG 1:10.82 01.08
18 Kostecki Brothers Racing Jake Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 1:10.84 01.10
19 Eggleston Motorsport Liam McAdam Holden Commodore VE 1:11.14 01.40
20 Cavalier Homes Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG 1:11.14 01.40
21 LMF Constructions Marcus Zukanovic Ford Falcon FG 1:11.21 01.48
22 Team Caltex Renee Gracie Ford Falcon FG 1:11.43 01.69
23 STR Towing Equipment Mathew Palmer Ford Falcon FG 1:12.17 02.43

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]