Dumbrell avoids carnage to win Dunlop Race 2

Chahda's Ford takes flight. pic: Matthew Paul Photography

Chahda’s Ford takes flight. pic: Matthew Paul Photography

Paul Dumbrell avoided a carnage filled opening lap to score victory in the second Dunlop Series race that saw Garry Jacobson assume the points lead.

Dumbrell inherited the lead from Jacobson after Richard Muscat, who initially held sway at the start, locked a brake and went wide at Turn 1.

However chaos ensured behind with a six car shunt involving Matt Chahda, title rival Jack Le Brocq, Andrew Jones, Renee Gracie, Adam Marjoram and Bryce Fullwood.

The incident was triggered by contact between Marjoram and Chahda on the front straight that sent the latter into the air after striking the inside kerb at Turn 1.

Chahda’s airborne Falcon clattered into Bryce Fullwood, Le Brocq and Andrew Jones, sending the cars deep into the Turn 1 gravel trap.

Gracie was also caught up having been left nowhere to go while Todd Hazelwood retired with damage picked up following the accident.

The Safety Car was immediately deployed sparking a lengthy clean up process with several cars suffering heavy damage.

Paul Dumbrell

Paul Dumbrell

Dumbrell emerged in the lead on the restart with Jacobson in hot pursuit of the Eggleston Motorsport VE Commodore.

The pair battled hard during the closing stages which resulted in contact between the duo at Turn 9 on the final lap.

Dumbrell held on to take the win from the new series leader, who just pipped Taz Douglas to second.

A strong drive from Kurt Kostecki saw the teenager claim fourth ahead of Shae Davies.

James Golding came out on top in the battle of the Garry Rogers Motorsport runners as Muscat salvaged seventh after his opening lap mistake.

Macauley Jones finished eighth while Dunlop Series rookies Anton de Pasquale and Chelsea Angelo completed the top 10.

The Dunlop Series returns for a third 22 lap race on Sunday.

Result: Dunlop Series Race 2

1 Eggleston Motorsport Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VE2 16 26:55.3642
2 Challenger Valve Racing Garry Jacobson Ford Falcon FG/X 16 26:56.0035
3 Eggleston Motorsport Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE2 16 26:56.0336
4 Kostecki Brothers Racing Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 16 26:57.0275
5 DavBridge Constructions /MWM Shae Davies Ford Falcon FG 16 26:58.1943
6 Wilson Security PAYCE GRM James Golding Holden Commodore VF 16 26:58.5751
7 Wilson Security PAYCE GRM Richard Muscat Holden Commodore VF 16 26:58.8120
8 PAYCE Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VF 16 27:03.2089
9 Paul Morris Motrosports Anton de Pasquale Ford Falcon FG 16 27:05.1305
10 Wilson Medic One / MWM Chelsea Angelo Ford Falcon FG 16 27:12.0247
11 LMF Constructions Marcus Zukanovic Ford Falcon FG 16 27:13.0131
12 Team Caltex Renee Gracie Ford Falcon FG 16 27:21.3602
13 Kostecki Brothers Racing Jake Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 16 27:22.0746
14 STR Towing Equipment Mathew Palmer Ford Falcon FG 16 27:23.0442
15 Wynn’s Racing Josh Kean Holden Commodore VF 16 27:27.5980
16 Castrol Racing/Performance Wes Alex Rullo Holden Commodore VF 16 27:37.0279
DNF Eggleston Motorsport Liam McAdam Holden Commodore VE2  6 15:04.2762
DNF iSEEK Communications Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore VF
DNF Auto One Adam Marjoram Ford Falcon FG
DNF GoGetta Racing Jack Le Brocq Ford Falcon FG/X
DNF Middy’s Electrical /MWM Bryce Fullwood Ford Falcon FG
DNF Alliance Truck Parts Racing Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VF
DNF Cavalier Homes Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG


Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]