Trans-Tasman Challenge set for Bathurst

John Elliott will be among the New Zealand Central Muscle Cars contingent for the Trans-Tasman Challenge

John Elliot will be among the New Zealand Central Muscle Cars contingent for the Trans-Tasman Challenge

Touring Car Masters and New Zealand’s Central Muscle Cars series will combine for a special Wilson Trans-Tasman Challenge at this year’s Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000.

The collaboration between the two series is set to provide a grid in excess of 50 cars for the inaugural event at Mount Panorama from October 6-9.

The bumper field will contest three races culminating in a rolling start finale on Sunday.

Touring Car Masters competitors will be joined by more than 25 entries from the Central Muscle Car series, which caters for racing classics from the 1960s and 1970s.

The group of visiting Kiwi racers will include Dean Perkins (Group 1 Falcon XD), Group 2 champion Steve Noyer (Shelby Mustang) and former champion Dr. John Elliot’s Torana GT-R XU1.

“The cars will be the stars and we will have a collection of race cars never assembled together before like this,” said Touring Car Masters category manager Tony Hunter.

“The Sunday Wilson Trans-Tasman challenge race could be one of the best sights ever seen on the Mountain, with Touring Car Masters cars on one side of the grid and Central Muscle cars lined up on the other for an incredible rolling start.

“For many drivers racing at or in the Bathurst 1000 is a dream so for a lot of people this will be a pinnacle event of their racing careers.”

Technical regulations will be announced in the coming weeks.

Wilson Trans-Tasman Challenge Provisional Entry List

Touring Car Masters

Jim Richards AMC Javelin
John Bowe Holden Torana
Glenn Seton Ford Mustang
Tony Hunter Chevrolet Monza
Andrew Fisher Ford Falcon
Tony Karanfilovski Ford Mustang
Keith Kassulke Holden Monaro
Adam Bressington Chevrolet Camaro
Mark King Chevrolet Camaro
Leo Tobin Ford Mustang
Wayne Mercer Ford Falcon
Rusty French Ford Mustang
John Roberts Chevrolet Camaro
Grant Wilson Chevrolet Camaro
Jason Gomersall Holden Torana
Brett Youlden Holden Monaro
Blu Cannon Ford Falcon
Al ‘Cuzza’ Boughen Mercury Comet
Greg Garwood Ford Capri
Adam Garwood Holden Torana
Eddie Abelnica Ford Falcon
Cameron Tilley Valliant Pacer
Tony Hunter Chrysler Charger
Nigel Benson Holden Monaro
Paul Freestone Chevrolet Camaro
Darren Beale Holden Monaro
Steven Johnson Ford Falcon
Garry O’Brien Holden Monaro

NZ Central Muscle Cars Series 

Tristan Teki Chevrolet Camaro
Anthony Galbraith Chrysler Charger
Dean Perkins Ford Falcon
Steven Ross Holden Commodore
Andrew Turner Holden Commodore
John Elliot Holden Torana
Greg Cuttance Ford Falcon
Sean Fowler Holden Torana
Stephen Noyer Ford Mustang
Mark Holland Chevrolet Camaro
Bruce Anderson Ford Mustang
Cameron Crawford Ford Falcon
Murray Graham Holden Torana
Michael Eden Ford Falcon
Calvin Andrew Holden Commodore
Stephen Scoles Chevrolet Camaro
Grant Dalton Chevrolet Camaro
Anthony Barrow Holden Commodore
Colin Meadows Chevrolet Camaro
John Midgley Ford Falcon
David Hopper Chevrolet Camaro
Brendan Mason Chevrolet Camaro
Steven Hildred Holden Monaro
Gregory Holden Ford Falcon
Duane Ingley Dodge Challenger
Roderick Hayman Pontiac Firebird

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]