Pedrosa defeats Rossi to win San Marino GP

Dani Pedrosa

Dani Pedrosa

Dani Pedrosa stormed through the field to take his first race win for the year at the San Marino Grand Prix.

The Repsol Honda rider came from eighth on the grid before passing long-time leader Valentino Rossi in the final quarter of the 28-lap race to take the victory.

Rossi was left to settle for second on home soil, while Yamaha team-mate Jorge Lorenzo completed the podium.

Lorenzo took the early initiative from pole position before Rossi made an aggressive move on Lap 2.

While Rossi was gradually building a lead, Pedrosa occupied sixth after Lap 4.

He then passed Maverick Viñales (Suzuki) and Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati) on consecutive laps, finally clearing a path to set after team-mate Marc Marquez.

Pedrosa lowered the lap record on Lap 11 before bumping Marquez out of the podium placings on Lap 14.

On the unpopular soft front tyre, Pedrosa ran down the medium shod Yamahas with remarkable ease, first Lorenzo on Lap 17 and then Rossi on Lap 22.

Rossi attempted a fightback but he was unable to stop Pedrosa from recording a 2.8s victory, his first since Malaysia last year.

“I’m very happy because it’s been very difficult, as everybody knows,” said Pedrosa.

“This victory is for my fans, for my friends, family, and for my team.”

Pedrosa’s triumph set a premier class record by becoming the eighth different race winner of the season.

Lorenzo expressed his displeasure following a lacklustre performance after breaking the qualifying record to score pole position.

“I cannot be happy because I expected to fight for the win, but sometimes you can’t do it and you have to wait for the next time,” said Lorenzo.

The defending world champion however made slight inroads on the current points leader Marquez, who faded on his way to fourth.

Marquez’s championship lead has been cut to 43 points over Rossi.

Viñales finished fifth, ahead of the factory Ducati pair of Dovizioso and Michele Pirro.

Cal Crutchlow crossed the line in eighth but a post-race time penalty for exceeding track limits saw the LCR Honda demoted to ninth, behind Pol Espargaro (Tech 3 Yamaha).

Aprilia’s Alvaro Bautista rounded out the top 10.

Jack Miller did not take the start after succumbing to pain in his fractured right hand.

Earlier, Lorenzo Baldassarri took a maiden Moto2 race win after passing Alex Rins on the penultimate lap, while Australia’s Remy Gardner finished 19th.

The championship heads to Aragon in Spain from September 23-25.

Result: MotoGP San Marino Grand Prix

Position Rider Team/Bike Time/Gap
1 Dani Pedrosa Honda 28 Laps
2 Valentino Rossi Yamaha +2.83s
3 Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha +4.35
4 Marc Marquez Honda +9.56
5 Maverick Vinales Suzuki +15.46
6 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati +19.67
7 Michele Pirro Ducati +22.93
8 Pol Espargaro Tech3 Yamaha +27.15
9 Cal Crutchlow LCR Honda +27.20
10 Alvaro Bautista Aprilia +33.96
11 Danilo Petrucci Pramac Ducati +39.20
12 Stefan Bradl Aprilia +39.96
13 Hector Barbera Avintia Ducati +42.99
14 Eugene Laverty Aspar Ducati +49.45
15 Scott Redding Pramac Ducati +54.87
16 Yonny Hernandez Aspar Ducati +1:05.07
17 Tito Rabat Marc VDS Honda +5 Laps
DNF Aleix Espargaro Suzuki Retirement
DNF Javier Fores Avintia Ducati Retirement
DNF Alex Lowes Tech3 Yamaha Retirement
DNS Andrea Iannone Ducati Withdrawn
DNS Jack Miller Marc VDS Honda Withdrawn

Championship Standings 

Position Rider Points
1 Marc Marquez 223
2 Valentino Rossi 180
3 Jorge Lorenzo 162
4 Dani Pedrosa 145
5 Maverick Vinales 136
6 Andrea Dovizioso 99
7 Andrea Iannone 96
8 Cal Crutchlow 93
9 Pol Espargaro 89
10 Hector Barbera 81
11 Eugene Laverty 69
12 Aleix Espargaro 60
13 Scott Redding 55
14 Danilo Petrucci 50
15 Alvaro Bautista 47
16 Stefan Bradl 43
17 Jack Miller 42
18 Bradley Smith 42
19 Michele Pirro 32
20 Tito Rabat 27
21 Loris Baz 24
22 Yonny Hernandez 13
23 Alex Lowes 3

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]