Hardeman secures GT3 Cup Challenge title

Hamish Hardeman

Hamish Hardeman is the new Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge champion

Hamish Hardeman secured the Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge title after scoring a victory and two second place finishes at the Phillip Island finale.

Hardeman finished second for the round which was enough to claim the championship from Jaxon Evans.

Evans edged Hardeman to the victory in Race 1 in another thrilling battle between the two title challengers, while Tim Miles finished third.

Hardeman fought back in Race 2 to take the flag by 0.1s, with scholarship racer Jake Klarich claiming the final spot on the podium.

The final race of the season saw Evans storm to victory with a healthy 5.2s gap over Hardeman, as Miles scored his second podium of the weekend.

In the Elite Class, Anthony Gilbertson led the way from Miles, with Sam Shahin finishing third on round points.

Class B saw Victorian Shane Barwood first, ahead of Brendan Cook and Michael Tsigeridis.

Miles took out the Elite Class crown while Barwood claimed the Class B crown.

Eddie Albenica

Eddie Abelnica was victorious in the Touring Car Masters

Touring Car Masters

Eddie Abelnica produced an impressive drive to become the ninth different winner of the Touring Car Masters season.

The Ford XB Falcon driver stormed from fourth on the grid to take the chequered flag in a thrilling 10 lap race at the Victorian circuit.

Abelnica managed to pass Glenn Seton (Ford Mustang Coupe), Jason Gomersall (Holden A9X Torana) and reigning series winner John Bowe (Holden Torana SLR 5000) on his way to victory.

The win ended a winless streak of 64 races which stretched back to Bathurst 2013.

Bowe came through to finish second after earlier battling Gomersall for the lead, before falling back to third after running wide on the damp circuit.

A quiet run from Seton saw him claim the final spot on the podium, while Gomersall dropped to fifth behind Adam Bressington (Chevrolet Camaro).

Brett Youlden finished sixth ahead of Steven Johnson, Jim Richards, Tony Karanfilovski and Leo Tobin, who rounded out the top 10.

The Touring Car Masters field will tackle two 10 lap races on Sunday.

Garry Jacobson take the lead in the Kumho V8 Touring Car Series

Garry Jacobson takes the lead in the Kumho V8 Touring Car Series

Kumho V8 Touring Car Series 

Garry Jacobson ended Taz Douglas’ nine-race winning streak with a strong drive on his Kumho V8 Touring Car Series debut.

The Dunlop Series title contender produced a dominant lights-to-flag drive from pole position as he took the flag by 7.4s from Image Racing’s Tyler Greenbury and Brad Jones Racing’s Josh Smith.

Series leader Douglas had held second in the early stages before he was passed by Greenbury.

The THR Developments driver soon came under pressure from Smith which resulted in contact at MG corner that sent Douglas spinning to the infield.

The contact was investigated by the stewards who deemed the move a racing incident.

Douglas managed to recover to fourth at the finish ahead of Jim Pollicina and Chris Smerdon.

The series will return for two more races on Sunday.

Tim Macrow on his way to victory

Tim Macrow on his way to victory

Australian Formula 3 Premier Series

Tim Macrow once again showed his class at Phillip Island by taking a comfortable victory from pole in the Australian Formula 3 Premier Series.

Macrow made no mistakes at the start to lead the field before extending his advantage to a 4.6s margin at the chequered flag.

The battle for second provided plenty of entertainment as Gilmour Racing’s Chris Anthony and Cameron Shields became locked in a titanic dice.

In the end, Anthony resisted the pressure from Shields to take second by 0.04s.

Roland Legge recovered from a spin on Lap 3 to finish fourth and claim pole position for the first of two races on Sunday.

Jack Perkins dominated the Kerrick Sport Sedans

Jack Perkins dominated the Kerrick Sport Sedans

Kerrick Sports Sedans

Supercars co-driver Jack Perkins recorded a commanding victory in the opening Sports Sedans encounter.

After claiming pole position, Perkins led the way from series leader Tony Ricciardello as he eased to a 23.3s margin.

Victorian Daniel Tamasi rounded out the podium, with Geoff Taunton, Colin Smith, Shane Bradford and Michael Robinson rounding out the top seven.

Perkins will start from pole in the first of two races on Sunday.

Roger I'Anson claimed his ninth consecutive Sports Racer Series race win

Roger I’Anson claimed his ninth consecutive Sports Racer Series race win

Sports Racer Series

A last gasp overtake earned Roger I’Anson a ninth consecutive win in the penultimate round of the Sports Racer Series.

I’Anson led from the rolling start but ran wide at Lukey Heights which allowed Aaron Steer to the front.

The two West Sportscar drivers enjoyed a thrilling race long scrap before I’Anson regained the lead at Honda corner on the last lap.

I’Anson held his nerve to take the victory from Steer, with Peter Johnson (Radical SR3) completing the podium.

The field will return for two more races on Sunday.

Greg Taylor will start from pole position in the Australian GT Trophy Series

Greg Taylor will start from pole position in the Australian GT Trophy Series

Australian GT Trophy Series

Greg Taylor boosted his Australian GT Trophy Series title hopes by securing pole position for the final round of the championship.

The GT Motorsport (Audi) driver was involved in a three-way battle for pole before posting a 1:34.84s effort to top the times by 0.5s from Tim Macrow (Lamborghini Gallardo).

Local racer Kane Rose was third fastest just 0.1s further back, while Jack Smith was the top MARC racer in fourth.

Championship leader Rob Smith could only manage fifth in his Audi R8 GT3.

The Australian GT Trophy Series will host two 50 minute races on Sunday.

Superkarts Australia National Series 

Queenslander Russell Jamieson edged Ilya Harpas to victory in the opening Superkarts Australia National Series heat of the weekend.

Jamieson pipped Harpas by 0.1s in the seven lap race while Victorian Gary Pegoraro was a distant third.

The 23 strong Superkart field return on Sunday for three five-lap races.

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]