Buemi ends final Formula E test quickest

Sebastien Buemi

Sebastien Buemi

Sebastien Buemi recorded the fastest time in Formula E pre-season testing by resetting the lap record on the final day of running at Donington Park.

The reigning champion lowered the benchmark posted by Jean-Eric Vergne (Techeetah) yesterday with a 1:29.10s effort.

Buemi, who set the time in the morning session, proved to be 0.29s quicker than Vergne’s previous lap record.

Vergne did however surpass his own personal best to end the test second overall just under 0.1s slower than the Renault e.dams driver.

Renault e.dams enjoyed a strong showing with Nico Prost third quickest as the Frenchman pipped Sam Bird (DS Virgin Racing), Loic Duval (Faraday Future Dragon Racing) and Daniel Abt (Abt Audi Sport).

Stan Sport is the only way to watch every round of the Formula E. Click here for all the action streaming ad-free, live and on demand.

Jerome d’Ambroiso (Faraday Future Dragon Racing), Jose Maria Lopez (DS Virgin Racing), Lucas di Grassi (Abt Audi Sport) and Ma Qing Hua (Techeetah)rounded out the top 10.

The only stoppage came when di Grassi left the road while on a personal best effort in the afternoon run.

New Zealand’s Mitch Evans clocked Jaguar Racing’s fastest time to date as he ended the test in 15th position with a 1:30.06s.

The British squad is expected to announce its driver line-up for its maiden Formula E campaign later today.

Evans is among the contenders to land the seat alongside former A1GP driver Adam Carroll, GP2 ace Alex Lynn and sportscar pilot Harry Tincknell.

Formula E heads to Hong Kong on October 9 for the season opener.

Result: FIA Formula E Final Pe-season Test Day Three

1 Sebastien Buemi Renault e.dams 1:28.91s
2 Jean-Eric Vergne Techeetah 1:29.10
3 Nicolas Prost Renault e.dams 1:29.20
4 Sam Bird DS Virgin Racing 1:29.28
5 Loic Duval Dragon Racing 1:29.39
6 Daniel Abt Abt Audi Sport 1:29.42
7 Jerome d’Ambrosio Dragon Racing 1:29.42
8 Jose Maria Lopez DS Virgin Racing 1:29.48
9 Lucas di Grassi Abt Audi Sport 1:29.51
10 Ma Qing Hua Techeetah 1:29.64
11 Felix Rosenqvist Mahindra 1:29.71
12 Oliver Turvey NEXTEV 1:29.71
13 Nick Heidfeld Mahindra 1:29.88
14 Robin Frijns Andretti Autosport 1:29.98
15 Mitch Evans Jaguar Racing 1:30.06
16 Antonio Felix da Costa Andretti Autosport 1:30.08
17 Stephane Sarrazin Venturi 1:30.12
18 Nelson Piquet Jr. NEXTEV 1:30.25
19 Adam Carroll Jaguar Racing 1:30.27
20 Maro Engel Venturi 1:30.35

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]