Vergne stays on top at Formula E test

Jean-Eric Vergne

Jean-Eric Vergne

Jean-Eric Vergne continued to set the pace on the penultimate day of FIA Formula E pre-season testing at Donington Park.

The Techeetah driver saved his best until the final minutes of the session when he posted a 1:29.196s to lower his previous lap record at the Leicestershire circuit.

Vergne’s impressive pace came after he suffered a crash in the morning run which brought out the red flags.

Reigning champion Sebastien Buemi ended the day 0.174s shy of the Vergne Techeetah, which utilises the same power train as the Renault e.dams racer.

The Swiss driver had topped the times at the end of the morning session, surpassing Vergne’s old lap record.

Stan Sport is the only way to watch every round of the Formula E. Click here for all the action streaming ad-free, live and on demand.

A late effort from Abt Audi Sport driver Lucas di Grassi saw the Brazilian emerge third fastest just 0.4s adrift of Vergne.

The Abt and Renault squads completed the top-five with Nico Prost fourth and Daniel Abt in fifth.

Nick Heidfeld (Mahindra), Jose Maria Lopez (DS Virgin Racing), Sam Bird (DS Virgin Racing), Oliver Turvey (NEXTEV) and Loic Duval (Faraday Future Dragon Racing) rounded out the top 10.

New Zealander Mitch Evans was the fastest of the Jaguar drivers in 14th position, albeit 1.4s slower than Vergne.

The final pre-season test concludes today ahead of the season opener at Hong Kong from October 9.

Result: FIA Formula E Final Pre-Season Test Day Two

1 Jean-Eric Vergne TECHEETAH 1:29.196s
2 Sebastien Buemi Renault e.Dams 1:29.370s
3 Lucas di Grassi ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport 1:29.518s
4 Nico Prost Renault e.Dams 1:29.722s
5 Daniel Abt ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport 1:30.039s
6 Nick Heidfeld Mahindra Racing 1:30.080s
7 Jose Maria Lopez DS Virgin Racing 1:30.126s
8 Sam Bird DS Virgin Racing 1:30.282s
9 Oliver Turvey NEXTEV 1:30.312s
10 Loic Duval Faraday Future Dragon Racing 1:30.388s
11 Nelson Piquet Jr NEXTEV 1:30.422s
12 Felix Rosenqvist Mahindra Racing 1:30.438s
13 Antonio Felix da Costa Andretti Formula E 1:30.536s
14 Mitch Evans Jaguar Racing 1:30.582s
15 Robin Frijns Andretti Formula E 1:30.648s
16 Stephane Sarrazin Venturi 1:30.671s
17 Adam Carroll Jaguar Racing 1:30.874s
18 Maro Engel Venturi 1:31.168s
19 Ma Qing Hua TECHEETAH 1:31.309s
20 Jerome d’Ambrosio Faraday Future Dragon Racing 1:32.369s

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]