Mostert scores Sydney pole double

Chaz Mostert

Chaz Mostert

Chaz Mostert continued his fine qualifying form by recording his fifth Armor All Pole Award of the Supercars season at Sydney Motorsport Park.

Mostert shot to the top of the order with a 1:29.44s effort midway through the 20 minutes before electing to sit out the remainder of the session.

The move enabled the Prodrive Ford driver to save a brand new set of tyres for the afternoon’s 200km race.

Mostert, who finished fourth after starting from pole yesterday, has now gone a full 12 months without a race win.

“The boys have given me a fantastic car this weekend,” smiled Mostert.

“It’s fantastic to have five poles this year, but I really want to get that win.

“Hopefully saving that set of tyres can help us out today.”

Triple Eight trio Shane van Gisbergen, Jamie Whincup and Craig Lowndes filled second through fourth having each had two green tyre runs.

Volvo duo Scott McLaughlin and James Moffat locked out the third row ahead of Rick Kelly, Scott Pye, Michael Caruso and Fabian Coulthard.

It was another tough session for title contender Mark Winterbottom, who will start 11th.

Saturday podium finisher James Courtney managed just 12th, one place ahead of team-mate Garth Tander.

Courtney triggered the Turn 5 kerb sensor on his final run but refused to blame the breach for his disappointing starting slot.

“It’s hugely frustrated, I’m gutted because we should have been up there,” said Courtney.

“It just didn’t come together this morning… the car wasn’t good enough to be up the front.

“I’m massively upset, but luckily it’s 200km this afternoon.”

Result: Virgin Australian Supercars Championship Red Rooster Sydney Super Sprint Race 19 Qualifying

1 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 1:29.44
2 Red Bull Racing Australia Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 1:29.47 00.03
3 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 1:29.53 00.09
4 TeamVortex Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 1:29.61 00.17
5 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 1:29.62 00.18
6 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Moffat Volvo S60 1:29.70 00.26
7 Sengled Motorsport Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:29.72 00.27
8 DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X 1:29.72 00.28
9 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1:29.73 00.29
10 DJR Team Penske Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG/X 1:29.75 00.31
11 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 1:29.75 00.31
12 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 1:29.78 00.33
13 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 1:29.81 00.37
14 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 1:29.93 00.49
15 carsales Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 1:29.99 00.55
16 Super Black Racing Chris Pither Ford Falcon FG/X 1:29.99 00.55
17 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 1:30.01 00.57
18 GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Nissan Altima 1:30.09 00.65
19 Team Darrell Lea STIX Will Davison Holden Commodore VF 1:30.10 00.66
20 Erebus Motorsport Penrite David Reynolds Holden Commodore VF 1:30.16 00.72
21 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 1:30.18 00.74
22 LD Motorsport Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 1:30.18 00.74
23 Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 1:30.20 00.76
24 LD Motorsport Andre Heimgartner Holden Commodore VF 1:30.51 01.07
25 Erebus Motorsport Shae Davies Holden Commodore VF 1:30.81 01.37
26 Preston Hire Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VF 1:32.76 03.32

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]