Grove wins Carrera Cup Aus/Asia Challenge race

Stephen Grove

Stephen Grove

Stephen Grove has taken a lights-to-flag victory in the combined Carrera Cup Australia/Carrera Cup Asia race for amateur drivers at Sydney Motorsport Park.

Grove had to work for his win, however, as traffic reduced a one-second lead to a grandstand finish with Yuan Bo.

Bo had joined the TAG Heuer Carrera Challenge driver on the front row, but bogged down at the start and dropped to fourth.

Shane Smollen slotted in behind his Australian counterpart but faded towards to end of the 10-lap race.

The McGrath Estate Agents driver committed a pressure mistake in running wide at Turn 2 on the penultimate lap, allowing a recovering Bo through.

Vutthikorn Inthraphuvasak relegated Smollen a further position in the final lap.

In front, Bo closed right up to the rear of the Grove Hire machine rounding Corporate Hill for the final time, but Grove hung on for his first individual outright Carrera Cup race win.

The race was marred by a number of incidents, the most bruising being the Lap 3 clash between Tony Bates and Adrian Mastronardo as they attempted to negotiate a slow-moving Wang Xi.

Mastronardo moved to round up Wang exiting Turn 6 but instead drove into the path of Bates, who rode up on the rear corner of car #39.

James Bergmuller and Scott Taylor spun at the same corner three laps later when the former moved across the latter’s nose under brakes.

Bates and Taylor joined Tiger Wu and Yuey Tan as retirements, the two Asian competitors suffering mechanical dramas.

The Professional class drivers will have their own combined race this afternoon at 1605 AEST.

VIDEO: Stephen Grove speaks after the race

Result: Porsche Carrera Cup Asia and Australia Challenge Race

Pos No. Driver Sponsor Series
1    4  Stephen Grove  Grove Hire Oz
2  106  Bo Yuan  Absolute Racing Asia
3  118  Vutthikorn Inthraphu  est cola Thailand Asia
4   56  Shane Smollen  McGrath Estate Agents Oz
5  121  Francis Tjia  OpenRoad Racing Asia
6   24  Tony Bates  Moveitnet / A.F.S Oz
7  128  John Shen  Modena Motorsports Asia
8    9  Marc Cini  Hallmarc Oz
9  109  Chao Li  Team Betterlife Asia
10  178  Buncharoen Suttiluck  True Visions Motorsports Thail Asia
11  123  Paul Tresidder  Paul Tresidder Asia
12  103  Michael Soeryadjaya  OpenRoad Racing Asia
13  116  Wayne Shen  Modena Motorsports Asia
14  117  Billy Fung  Arrows Racing Asia
15   13  James Bergmuller Oz
16  108  Kumplome Sontaya  Racing Spirit Thailand Asia
17  122  Yuk Lung Siu  LKM Racing Asia
18  107  Xi Wang  Team Formax Asia
DNF  222  Scott Taylor  Scott Taylor Motorsport Oz
DNF   39  Adrian Mastronardo  Veritas Porperty Group Oz
DNF  111  Tiger Wu  RC Racing Asia
DNF  105  Yuey Tan  Team Jebsen Asia

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]