SVG leads Red Bull one-two in Race 18

Shane van Gisbergen

Shane van Gisbergen

Shane van Gisbergen fended off team-mate Jamie Whincup to extend Triple Eight’s Supercars winning streak to six straight races.

The Red Bull duo dominated the opening heat at Sydney Motorsport Park from the outset, making short work of pole-sitter Chaz Mostert on the opening lap.

Mostert led the first three corners before Van Gisbergen and then Whincup carved their way through.

Whincup shadowed his team-mate as the duo conserved their rubber throughout the opening stint, taking the lead when Van Gisbergen dived for the pits on lap 14 of 31.

The six-time champion stayed out for a further three laps before pitting and rejoining back in fourth.

On fresher tyres, Whincup wasted no time in climbing over Craig Lowndes and Scott McLaughlin before setting after Van Gisbergen.

The Kiwi held his nerve over the final laps, driving faultlessly to win by just 0.25s.

“I thought Jamie might have been held up by those guys but he cut straight through them,” said Van Gisbergen.

“I just held my line. I made one mistake at Turn 1 and had to defend but other than that it was pretty cool. I definitely enjoyed that one.”

“It all came down to track position at the end of the day,” added Whincup, who remains on 99 career wins after three consecutive second place finishes.

“We’ve both got pretty much exactly the same set-up now.

“The aero understeer is crazy around this place. I just couldn’t quite get close enough.”

Whincup’s charge had been made all the more dramatic by puffs of smoke emerging from his car’s right-front wheel on the final lap.

“I don’t know what happened there, it felt fine,” he said.

As expected on the high degradation layout, pitstop timing had a major impact on the result throughout the field.

Teams balanced pitting early for track position or late to ensure they had speed at the end.

James Courtney ran third early, dropped to eighth in the pitstop cycle, before carving his way back through to the final podium spot.

Mostert played a similar game on his way to fourth ahead of McLaughlin, Lowndes, Tim Slade, Garth Tander, Rick Kelly and Fabian Coulthard.

Ninth placed qualifier Mark Winterbottom could manage no better than 11th, losing ground to his Red Bull rivals in the title fight.

Scott Pye was in the thick of the battle during the early stages, running fifth when he slowed with a power steering failure on lap eight.

The Supercars field will return to the track for qualifying at 1140 local time tomorrow before the 200km Race 19 at 1400.

Result: Virgin Australian Supercars Championship Red Rooster Sydney Super Sprint Race 18

1 Red Bull Racing Australia Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 31 48:51.0408
2 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 31 48:51.2868
3 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 31 48:54.1790
4 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 31 48:54.8577
5 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 31 49:04.5219
6 TeamVortex Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 31 49:05.1361
7 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 31 49:06.0208
8 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 31 49:06.1478
9 Sengled Motorsport Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 31 49:14.1527
10 DJR Team Penske Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG/X 31 49:14.3920
11 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 31 49:14.7987
12 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Moffat Volvo S60 31 49:15.1608
13 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 31 49:19.2172
14 Super Black Racing Chris Pither Ford Falcon FG/X 31 49:19.9073
15 GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Nissan Altima 31 49:22.4960
16 LD Motorsport Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 31 49:22.6293
17 Erebus Motorsport Penrite David Reynolds Holden Commodore VF 31 49:24.4955
18 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 31 49:24.7437
19 Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 31 49:29.0120
20 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 31 49:30.1616
21 Team Darrell Lea STIX Will Davison Holden Commodore VF 31 49:30.3217
22 Preston Hire Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VF 31 49:30.6060
23 LD Motorsport Andre Heimgartner Holden Commodore VF 31 49:40.7303
24 carsales Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 31 49:44.1824
25 Erebus Motorsport Shae Davies Holden Commodore VF 31 49:44.6487
DNF DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X  8 13:14.4858

Championship Standings

1 Jamie Whincup 1959
2 Shane Van Gisbergen 1861
3 Craig Lowndes 1773
4 Mark Winterbottom 1773
5 Scott McLaughlin 1647
6 Will Davison 1527
7 Tim Slade 1449
8 Michael Caruso 1434
9 Chaz Mostert 1406
10 James Courtney 1344
11 Rick Kelly 1269
12 Garth Tander 1267
13 Fabian Coulthard 1180
14 Todd Kelly 1165
15 Jason Bright 1101
16 David Reynolds 1042
17 Scott Pye 1000
18 James Moffat  951
19 Cameron Waters  936
20 Chris Pither  859
21 Dale Wood  784
22 Tim Blanchard  737
23 Nick Percat  693
24 Andre Heimgartner  668
25 Lee Holdsworth  648
26 Aaren Russell  465
27 Kurt Kostecki  108
28 Craig Baird   72
29 Karl Reindler   39
30 Shae Davies   30

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]