NextEV confirms unchanged Formula E line-up

Nelson Piquet Jr. (left) and Oliver Turvey will remain at NextEV for the new Formula E season

Nelson Piquet Jr. (left) and Oliver Turvey will remain at NextEV for the new Formula E season

Nelson Piquet Jr. and Oliver Turvey have been retained by the NextEV FIA Formula E team for the 2016/2017 campaign.

The Chinese backed squad has confirmed that both Piquet Jr. and Turvey have signed multi-year agreements with the operation, following a challenging 2015/2016 season.

NextEV finished at the foot of the teams’ championship having been hampered by its newly developed twin-motor powertrain introduced in season two.

Piquet Jr. is confident lessons have been learned from last season as the Brazilian looks to add to his inaugural Formula E title won in 2014/2015.

“With NextEV fully committed to the Formula E programme, I believe that the team has a very strong long-term future,” said Piquet Jr.

Stan Sport is the only way to watch every round of the Formula E. Click here for all the action streaming ad-free, live and on demand.

“I am happy to be continuing to race with the team that I won the world championship with, and we are looking forward to being able to fight for victories again next season.

“We have come off the back of a challenging season, but that meant we learnt a lot and we are stronger for it.”

Piquet Jr. and Turvey have already experienced their 2016/2017 car during a 14 day private test at Spain’s Calafat circuit.

After narrowly outscoring Piquet Jr. last season in his maiden Formula E tilt, British driver Turvey is looking forward to the new campaign.

The new look NextEV Formula E car

The new look NextEV Formula E car

The 29-year-old will compete in Formula E alongside his Japanese Super GT commitments.

“I learnt a lot in my first full season and have taken this experience into the summer testing to work with the team on developing the new car,” said Turvey.

“The team and I have similarly high ambitions for the season ahead and we will work hard together to achieve them.

“I know how much effort everyone at NextEV has put in so I can’t wait to start racing.”

The NextEV squad has also revealed a new livery for the 2016/2017 campaign ahead of the official pre-season test which is due to begin at Donington Park today.

Meanwhile, Jaguar remains the only team yet to confirm its driver line-up which is expected to be announced on September 8.

FIA Formula E 2016/2017 driver line-up

Renault e.dams:

Sebastien Buemi, Nicolas Prost

Abt Audi Sport:

Lucas di Grassi, Daniel Abt

DS Virgin Racing:

Sam Bird, Jose Maria Lopez

Dragon Racing:

Jerome d’Ambrosio, Loic Duval


Nick Heidfeld, Felix Rosenqvist


Stephane Sarrazin, Maro Engel


Robin Frijns, Antonio Felix da Costa


Jean-Eric Vergne, Ma Qing Hua


Nelson Piquet Jr, Oliver Turvey



Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]