Whincup on Race 17 pole as Prodrive fumes

Jamie Whincup

Jamie Whincup

Jamie Whincup scored the Armor All Pole Award for Race 17 at Ipswich in a qualifying session that left Prodrive and Mark Winterbottom furious.

Whincup put down a 1:09.4s midway through the 20 minutes that even he could not match on the final green tyre run.

Craig Lowndes will share the front-row having fallen 0.09s short of his Triple Eight team-mate before electing to sit out the final run altogether.

Shane van Gisbergen was the big mover in the dying seconds, jumping from last to a brief high of third.


The Kiwi made a mistake on his first run as he struggled with distinctly different track conditions to yesterday, triggering a late damper change ahead of the final minutes.

Chaz Mostert responded to Van Gisbergen’s effort by bumping him back to fourth seconds later, ensuring the Supercheap Ford will start third.

Team-mate Mark Winterbottom was just fifth after coming across Kurt Kostecki at the high-speed Turn 2 on his last lap.

Kostecki, who is running two events for Team 18 after cutting a deal to supply his Dunlop Series car to the squad, also held up Winterbottom’s team-mate Cameron Waters.

“(It was) just an amateur move and unfortunately both our guys lost their green tyre runs,” fumed Prodrive team principal Tim Edwards.

“We should have better licensing that people of that level of experience can’t go and do that. It’s bloody disappointing.”

Winterbottom also bemoaned the rookie’s place in the field, describing the 18-year-old’s lack of experience as a safety issue.

“A guy comes in inexperienced but they don’t park up at one of the fastest corners in Australian motorsport,” said the reigning champion.

“You come flying in there… I almost ripped the front wheel off with him. He just sat on the inside of the corner. It’s just silly.

“I think we had a car good enough for pole. We still salvaged fifth but when guys that aren’t even in the series get in your way… what do you do?

“It’s just safety. If I’d have hit him, ripped the front wheel off you’re in the fence and you’re hurt. Results are results but it’s more the safety that I worry about.”

Scott Pye bounced back strongly from a horror Saturday to take sixth ahead of Michael Caruso, Tim Slade, Saturday pole-sitter Chris Pither and Scott McLaughlin.

Waters ended up 11th in a session that saw all six Fords inside the top 15.

The 200km Race 17 will get underway at 1405 local time.

Result: Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Coates Hire Ipswich Super Sprint Race 17 Qualifying

1 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 1:09.4113*S
2 TeamVortex Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 1:09.5012 S 00.0899
3 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 1:09.5752 S 00.1639
4 Red Bull Racing Australia Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 1:09.6041 S 00.1928
5 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 1:09.6424 S 00.2311
6 DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X 1:09.6814 S 00.2701
7 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1:09.6923 S 00.2810
8 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 1:09.7029 S 00.2916
9 Super Black Racing Chris Pither Ford Falcon FG/X 1:09.7219 S 00.3106
10 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 1:09.7481 S 00.3368
11 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 1:09.7519 S 00.3406
12 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 1:09.7784 S 00.3671
13 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Moffat Volvo S60 1:09.7789 S 00.3676
14 Sengled Motorsport Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:09.7858 S 00.3745
15 DJR Team Penske Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG/X 1:09.8203 S 00.4090
16 carsales Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 1:09.8397 S 00.4284
17 Team Darrell Lea STIX Will Davison Holden Commodore VF 1:09.8828 S 00.4715
18 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 1:09.9454 S 00.5341
19 Erebus Motorsport Penrite David Reynolds Holden Commodore VF 1:09.9794 S 00.5681
20 GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Nissan Altima 1:10.0133 S 00.6020
21 Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 1:10.1333 S 00.7220
22 LD Motorsport Andre Heimgartner Holden Commodore VF 1:10.1682 S 00.7569
23 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 1:10.1998 S 00.7885
24 LD Motorsport Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 1:10.2109 S 00.7996
25 Preston Hire Racing Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 1:10.4648 S 01.0535
26 Erebus Motorsport Hungry Jacks Craig Baird Holden Commodore VF 1:10.6464 S 01.2351

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]