Coulthard puts Penske P1 in Ipswich practice

Fabian Coulthard

Fabian Coulthard

Fabian Coulthard raised hopes of a maiden DJR Team Penske victory on home soil at Queensland Raceway by setting the pace in Friday practice.

Following on from impressive speed at the venue in pre-season testing, Coulthard jumped to the top of the order with just over two minutes of the hour long session remaining.

A 1:09.71s was good enough to edge TeamVortex’s Craig Lowndes by 0.05s.

The Holden ace proved unable to respond as he struck traffic on his final run.


“It’s so hard around here, you never know where you’re at until you put a decent tyre on at the end of the day,” said Coulthard, who had been 12th in the opening session.

“Everyone is separated by tenths of seconds but it’s not a bad way to end the day.”

It had taken just 10 minutes for Michael Caruso to eclipse the 1:10.33s that he’d recorded to top the opening session.

Lowndes immediately went faster still and sat atop the order until Scott McLaughlin took over the front-running at halfway.

The Caltex Holden then became the first to drop into the 1:09s 10 minutes from the end, shaving 0.1s from the Volvo to leave the benchmark at 1:09.95s.

That time stood until Coulthard’s late effort which brought the pace to within 0.7s of Will Davison’s 2013 practice lap record.

Chaz Mostert ended the day third fastest time of the day ahead of Rick Kelly, Chris Pither and Mark Winterbottom.

McLaughlin eventually drifted to seventh ahead of Shane van Gisbergen, Scott Pye and Dale Wood.

Jamie Whincup was just 19th after making a mistake at Turn 4 on his final tyre run.

David Reynolds was one place higher in 18th after missing the early part of the session while his Erebus team fixed a rollbar issue with the Penrite Holden.

A final 15 minute practice session will be held tomorrow before qualifying.

Result: Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Coates Hire Ipswich Super Sprint Practice 2

1 DJR Team Penske Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG/X 1:09.7061*S
2 TeamVortex Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 1:09.7583 S 00.0522
3 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 1:09.8354 S 00.1293
4 Sengled Motorsport Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:09.8665 S 00.1604
5 Super Black Racing Chris Pither Ford Falcon FG/X 1:10.0075 S 00.3014
6 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 1:10.0556 S 00.3495
7 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 1:10.0778 S 00.3717
8 Red Bull Racing Australia Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 1:10.0942 S 00.3881
9 DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X 1:10.1191 S 00.4130
10 GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Nissan Altima 1:10.1365 S 00.4304
11 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Moffat Volvo S60 1:10.1539 S 00.4478
12 carsales Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 1:10.1585 S 00.4524
13 LD Motorsport Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 1:10.2245 S 00.5184
14 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 1:10.2271 S 00.5210
15 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 1:10.2456 S 00.5395
16 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1:10.2669 S 00.5608
17 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 1:10.3517 S 00.6456
18 Erebus Motorsport Penrite David Reynolds Holden Commodore VF 1:10.3533 S 00.6472
19 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 1:10.3645 S 00.6584
20 LD Motorsport Andre Heimgartner Holden Commodore VF 1:10.3890 S 00.6829
21 Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 1:10.4221 S 00.7160
22 Team Darrell Lea STIX Will Davison Holden Commodore VF 1:10.4261 S 00.7200
23 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 1:10.4748 S 00.7687
24 Erebus Motorsport Hungry Jacks Craig Baird Holden Commodore VF 1:10.8874 S 01.1813
25 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 1:10.9320 S 01.2259
26 Preston Hire Racing Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 1:11.3977 S 01.6916

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]