Raikkonen quickest at Silverstone test

Kimi Raikkonen

Kimi Raikkonen

Kimi Raikkonen topped the times on the final day of Formula 1’s in-season test at Silverstone.

The Finn clocked a personal best 1:30.655s in the final hour of running as the Northamptonshire circuit began to dry following a rain shower.

Raikkonen’s effort was 0.6s faster then the previous day’s best posted by McLaren’s Fernando Alonso.

It was also 0.2s faster than his best time in qualifying for the British Grand Prix.

“We’ve been doing our normal testing work, trying different things,” said Raikkonen, who chalked up 103 laps during the day.

“We always expect more as a team in terms of results. That’s Ferrari: we want to win and keep working. Then we will see what happens.

“We believe we can still win and we don’t want to give up, but improve.”

Mercedes’ Esteban Ocon had led much of the running before Raikkonen’s late lap.

The Brackley squad’s development driver covered the most mileage as he notched up 139 laps, ending 0.5s adrift of the 2007 world champion.

Red Bull enjoyed a much stronger showing as junior driver Pierre Gasly clocked the third fastest time on soft compound rubber.

Gasly had been sidelined for much of yesterday’s session with an electronics issue on his RB12.

Force India’s Nikita Mazepin was fourth after posting his best time on the super-soft tyre.

Meanwhile, McLaren’s Stoffel Vandoorne was fifth ahead of Valtteri Bottas (Williams), Santino Ferrucci (Haas F1) and Renault’s Jolyon Palmer.

Toro Rosso’s Sergio Sette Camara and Manor’s Jordan King rounded out the top 10.

Pascal Wehrlein was the last of the timed runners as he continued development on Pirelli’s 2017 compounds.

Result: Formula 1 Silverstone Test Day 2

Position Driver Car Time Gap Laps
1 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:30.665s 103
2 Esteban Ocon Mercedes 1:31.212s +0.547s 139
3 Pierre Gasly Red Bull/Renault 1:31.429s +0.764s 103
4 Nikita Mazepin Force India/Mercedes 1:31.561s +0.896s 69
5 Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren/Honda 1:31.764s +1.099s 114
6 Valtteri Bottas Williams/Mercedes 1:32.423s +1.758s 98
7 Santino Ferrucci Haas/Ferrari 1:33.141s +2.476s 107
8 Jolyon Palmer Renault 1:33.309s +2.644s 98
9 Sergio Sette Camara Toro Rosso/Ferrari 1:34.040s +3.375s 82
10 Jordan King Manor/Mercedes 1:35.060s +4.395s 70
11 Pascal Wehrlein Mercedes 1:36.162s +5.497s 128

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]