Walls victorious in surprise GT sequel

Tony Walls

Tony Walls

Tony Walls has been awarded victory in the second Australian GT race despite losing the win on the road following a dramatic final lap.

Walls seemed on course to score victory but a mistake at Turn 11 on the final lap seemingly handed the win to a hard charging Klark Quinn in the Darrell Lea McLaren.

Quinn, who led the opening stint of the race from pole, applied pressure on the Objective Racing McLaren of Walls in the final laps having rejoined the race in fifth after the mandatory pitstops.

However, the pass took place under yellow flags which was investigated post race, resulting in Walls being declared the winner.

Officials issued Quinn a 25 second time penalty which dropped him to seventh, while Roger Lago inherited second. The Scot Taylor Motorsport Mercedes of Craig Baird and Scott Taylor completed the podium.

Lago ran solidly inside the top six for the majority of the race. He held third after the pitstops and moved to second before being passed by Quinn in the final laps.

An impressive stint from Baird saw him haul Mercedes through the pack after spending much of the race outside the top 10.

John Martin lost out in a fascinating battle with Baird to finish fourth in the Walkinshaw Racing Porsche ahead of Christopher Mies in the #1 Jamec Pem Racing Audi.

Mies was another driver to carve his way through the pack after taking over the car, he shared with Tony Bates, in 18th position. Bates had run inside the top five before the pitstops.

The Supabarn Supermarkets Audi of James Koundouris and Marcus Marshall was sixth having been in contention for a podium until the final stages.

The top 10 was completed by Tony Quinn (Aston Martin), Steve McLaughlan (Audi) and the Tekno Autosports McLaren of Jonathon Webb and Grant Denyer.

Championship leader Nathan Morcom (McLaren) finished in 11th position.

The Team SRM BMW M6 GT3 crossed the line in 15th after their race was hampered by a drive-through penalty issued to Max Twigg, who punted McLaughlan prior to the pit stops.

The race was punctuated by a Safety Car period when Peter Rullo (Lamborghini) and Ricky Capo (BMW) in the opening laps.

Rullo lost control on the run to Turn 11 while a right rear puncture fired Capo into the barriers in a separate incident.

Result: Australian GT Championship Race 2

1 Objective Racing Tony Walls (Qld) McLaren 650S GT3 46 01:03:12.3362
2 JBS Australia Roger Lago (Qld) Lamborghini R-EX 46 01:03:17.3972
3 Scott Taylor Motorsport S.Taylor/C.Baird Mercedes Benz AMG GT 46 01:03:17.8663
4 Walkinshaw GT3 J.Martin/N.Muston Porsche 911 GT3-R 46 01:03:25.8187
5 JAMEC PEM Racing C.Mies/T.Bates Audi R8 LMS 46 01:03:26.2256
6 Supabarn Supermarkets J.Koundouris/M.Marshall Audi R8 LMS 46 01:03:30.8860
7 Darrell Lea Klark Quinn (Qld) McLaren 650S GT3 46 01:03:36.5698
8 Darrell Lea Tony Quinn (Qld) Aston Martin Vantage 46 01:03:41.4935
9 JAMEC PEM Racing Steve McLaughlan (Vic) Audi R8 LMS 46 01:03:42.0459
10 McLaren Melbourne G.Denyer/J.Webb McLaren 650S GT3 46 01:03:47.1491
11 Direct Plasterboard Outlet Nathan Morcom McLaren 650S GT3 46 01:03:50.2473
12 Hallmarc Developments Marc Cini (Vic) Audi R8 Ultra 46 01:03:58.9641
13 Bondi Wholefoods Ash Samadi (Vic) Audi R8 LMS 46 01:04:02.6075
14 GT Motorsport Greg Taylor (NSW) Audi R8 LMS 45 01:03:14.5714
15 BMW Team SRM S.Richards/M.Twigg BMW M6 GT3 45 01:03:25.3715
16 AMAC Motorsport A.Macpherson/B.Shiels Porsche 997 GT3-R 45 01:03:32.7118
17 Hogs Breath Cafe/Griffith Corp M.Griffith/S.Hookey Mercedes Benz AMG SL 45 01:04:12.9098
18 Interlloy M Motorsport J.McMillan/G.Wood Lamborghini R-EX 44 01:04:23.4776
19 Beechwood/SLR/Buildmap N.Antunes/E.Barbour McLaren 650S GT3 43 01:04:07.2998
DNF Fastway Couriers Simon Ellinghham (NZ) Audi R8 Ultra 39    55:07.2029
DNF Modena Engineering Ricky Capo (Vic) BMW Z4 GT3  2     5:31.8892

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]