Whincup storms to 99th Supercars win

Jamie Whincup

Jamie Whincup

Jamie Whincup recorded his 99th career Supercars race win with a dominant display in the opening 200km contest at the Castrol Edge Townsville 400.

Pole-sitter Whincup’s only real threat occurred when a late Safety Car brought team-mate Shane van Gisbergen onto his bumper for a two-lap shootout to the end.

Two lapped cars, however, split the duo at the restart, helping Whincup sprint away to a 3.6s victory.

The result marks championship leader Whincup’s eighth victory on the Reid Park street circuit and his first since the opening race of the season in Adelaide.

Van Gisbergen had stalked his team-mate throughout the early stages, but couldn’t make a two-lap undercut work at the first stop.

The gap between the pair expanded to 10 seconds as the Kiwi’s tyres faded in the second stint, leaving Whincup in a dominant position.

Van Gisbergen spent much of the third and final stint in a battle with Chaz Mostert, who took the place early before Van Gisbergen wrestled it back 15 laps from home.

Mark Winterbottom demoted Mostert to fourth a short time later as the youngster’s tyres faded.

Winterbottom had run longer than his nearest rivals on both stints, subsequently benefitting from fresher tyres in the closing stages.

James Courtney was third in the early going but eventually fell to sixth as Will Davison edged him at the flag.

Garth Tander, who had charged from 20th on the grid to 12th in the opening handful of laps, followed his team-mate home in seventh.

Fabian Coulthard took eighth after coming out on top in a race long battle with lead Nissan driver Michael Caruso.

Veteran Todd Kelly completed the top 10 in his 500th championship race start in the category.

Those to strike trouble included Tim Slade, who was spun out of 10th place by Rick Kelly at Turn 11 on just the second lap.

Kelly received a drive-through penalty for the incident, which also significantly delayed Nick Percat.

Scott McLaughlin’s championship bid took a major hit on the opening lap as contact with Dale Wood required the Volvo to make a trip to the pitlane for repairs, resulting in a 24th place finish.

Rookie Kurt Kostecki was 25th after losing a handful of laps fixing damage after drifting into the Turn 10 concrete on lap 51.

The late Safety Car was recalled to retrieve Percat’s Holden, which was parked at the entry to Turn 7 with broken steering.

Result: Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Castrol Edge Townsville 400 Race 14 

1 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 70 01:31:34.8721
2 Red Bull Racing Australia Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 70 01:31:38.4493
3 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 70 01:31:39.9764
4 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 70 01:31:41.5678
5 Team Darrell Lea STIX Will Davison Holden Commodore VF 70 01:31:42.7430
6 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 70 01:31:42.7566
7 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 70 01:31:43.3248
8 DJR Team Penske Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG/X 70 01:31:43.5827
9 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 70 01:31:44.1192
10 carsales Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 70 01:31:44.3853
11 Erebus Motorsport Penrite David Reynolds Holden Commodore VF 70 01:31:45.2218
12 TeamVortex Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 70 01:31:46.5965
13 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 70 01:31:47.6455
14 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 70 01:31:48.9966
15 LD Motorsport Andre Heimgartner Holden Commodore VF 70 01:31:49.0984
16 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 70 01:31:49.4965
17 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Moffat Volvo S60 70 01:31:51.1098
18 DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X 70 01:31:51.2391
19 Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 69 01:31:39.0536
20 Super Black Racing Chris Pither Ford Falcon FG/X 69 01:31:39.2696
21 Sengled Motorsport Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 69 01:31:41.1962
22 Plus Fitness Racing Aaren Russell Holden Commodore VF 69 01:31:49.7707
23 GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Nissan Altima 69 01:31:50.6431
24 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 68 01:31:52.2855
25 Preston Hire Racing Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 64 01:31:52.9025
DNF LD Motorsport Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 63 01:21:17.7541

Championship Standings

1 Jamie Whincup 1425
2 Shane Van Gisbergen 1342
3 Mark Winterbottom 1341
4 Craig Lowndes 1314
5 Scott McLaughlin 1263
6 Will Davison 1263
7 Michael Caruso 1119
8 Tim Slade 1089
9 James Courtney 1011
10 Garth Tander 1003
11 Chaz Mostert  989
12 Rick Kelly  963
13 Todd Kelly  943
14 Fabian Coulthard  886
15 Jason Bright  858
16 David Reynolds  847
17 Scott Pye  826
18 Cameron Waters  742
19 James Moffat  678
20 Lee Holdsworth  648
21 Chris Pither  595
22 Nick Percat  591
23 Dale Wood  571
24 Tim Blanchard  554
25 Andre Heimgartner  524
26 Aaren Russell  423
27 Kurt Kostecki   30

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]