Trofeo Huracan GT3 to miss Townsville GT round

Trofeo Motorsport's Lamborghini Huracán GT3 in its new livery

Trofeo Motorsport’s Lamborghini Huracán GT3 in its new livery

Trofeo Motorsport has elected to delay the Australian GT debut for its new Lamborghini Huracan until August’s visit to Sydney Motorsport Park.

The Melbourne squad had planned to unleash its latest GT import at the penultimate round of the championship at Townsville this weekend.

Its competitive debut has been pushed back following the arrival of a factory Lamborghini engineer dispatched to Australia to train the Trofeo Motorsport crew in setting up the Huracan GT3.

The outfit has recently signed an agreement with the Italian manufacturer to run an official Lamborghini customer sports program in Australia.

Trofeo Motorsport conducted its maiden test at Phillip Island last month with further outings planned at Winton on Friday and Phillip Island next week.

Stan Sport is the only way to watch every round of Speedseries. Click here for all the action streaming ad-free, live and on demand.

The squad has now confirmed the Huracan, to be piloted by Jim Manolios and Ryan Millier, will break cover at Sydney Motorsport Park from August 26-28.

Australian GT organisers have confirmed a 23 car grid for this weekend’s two 60 minute races at Townsville’s Reid Park circuit.

The entry list features a couple of driver changes with Walkinshaw Racing set to field two-time Radical Australia Cup winner Neale Muston alongside regular driver John Martin.

Muston replaces Arron Tebb who has partnered Martin at Barbagallo Raceway and Phillip Island rounds earlier this season.

The Porsche GT3 R will return to the grid following a repair after sustaining rear suspension damage that ruled it out of the Phillip Island 101 in May.

Meanwhile, Tekno Autosports boss Jonathon Webb will return to competitive action as a replacement for Matt Kingsley.

Webb will join Grant Denyer behind the wheel of the #59 McLaren 650S GT3.

The round will also see reigning Australian GT champion Christopher Mies return behind the wheel of the #1 Audi Customer Racing Australia R8 GT3 alongside Tony Bates.

Joining the Mies/Bates entry is gentleman racer Ash Samadi will pilot a brand new R8 GT3 entry also prepared by Audi Customer Racing Australia.

Mark Griffith will continue to pilot an Erebus Motorsport Mercedes SLS GT3 amid ongoing repairs to his new AMG GT3.

Tekno Autosports’ Nathan Morcom tops the championship standing heading into this weekend’s two sprint races.

The CAMS Australian GT Championship kicks off the on-track action on Friday July 7 with opening practice at 0910 AEST.

CAMS Australian GT Championship Townsville Entry List

No Team Drivers Car
1 JAMEC PEM Racing Christopher Mies/Tony Bates Audi R8 LMS
2 JAMEC PEM Racing Steve McLaughlan Audi R8 LMS
3 Bondi Wholefoods Ash Samadi Audi R8 LMS
4 Supabarn Supermarkets James Koundouris/Marcus Marshall Audi R8 LMS
5 GT Motorsport Greg Taylor Audi R8 LMS
7 Darrell Lea Tony Quinn Aston Martin Vantage GT3
9 Hallmarc Developments Marc Cini Audi R8 LMS
11 Objective Racing Tony Walls McLaren 650S GT3
14 Taplin Real Estate Andrew Taplin/Dean Canto Lamborghini R-EX
19 Hogs Breath Café/Griffith Corporation Mark Griffith Mercedes AMG SLS GT3
23 JBS Australia Roger Lago Lamborghini R-EX
33 Fastway Couriers Simon Ellingham/Tim Miles Audi R8 LMS Ultra
37 Darrell Lea Klark Quinn McLaren 650S GT3
48 Interlloy M Motorsport Justin McMillan/Glen Wood Lamborghini R-EX
51 AMAC Motorsport Andrew Macpherson/Brad Shiels Porsche 997 GT3-R
59 McLaren Melbourne Grant Denyer/Jonathon Webb McLaren 650S GT3
60 DPO Nathan Morcom McLaren 650S GT3
61 Beechwood/SLR/Buildcorp Nathan Antunes/Elliot Barbour McLaren 650S GT3
62 Performance West Motorsport Alex Rullo/Peter Rullo Lamborghini Gallardo
92 Modena Engineering Ricky Capo BMW Z4 GT3
100 BMW Team SRM Steve Richards/Max Twigg BMW M6 GT3
222 Scott Taylor Motorsport Scott Taylor/Craig Baird Mercedes AMG GT3
911 Walkinshaw GT3 John Martin/Neale Muston Porsche 911 GT3-R

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]