Miller scores stunning maiden MotoGP triumph

Sunday 26th June, 2016 - 11:29pm


Jack Miller

Jack Miller

Jack Miller has taken a sensational maiden MotoGP victory in a chaotic rain-hit Dutch TT at Assen.

The race was run over just 12 laps after monsoon rain saw officials red flag the first attempt to complete the grand prix after 14 laps.

After a 30 minute break to allow the weather to pass, the race restarted with the grid set by the order when the encounter was stopped.

Starting from eighth on the grid on the restart, the 21-year-old Miller surged to fourth in the early laps held in tricky wet conditions.

The Marc VDS Honda continued to close on the lead group after second placed Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati) and leader Valentino Rossi (Yamaha) fell in quick succession.

Dovizioso had led from Danilo Petrucci and Rossi when the red flags were shown earlier in the afternoon.

Honda’s Marc Marquez assumed the lead but soon had Miller hot on his heels as the track began to dry.

With eight laps remaining Miller dived underneath Marquez for the lead before going on to complete a commanding ride to the chequered flag.

The Townsville rider’s surprise victory sees him become the first Australian to win MotoGP race since Casey Stoner’s triumph at the 2012 Australian Grand Prix.

He is also the first non factory rider to win since Toni Elias at the 2006 Portuguese Grand Prix for Gresini.

Marquez tried to apply pressure on the young Australian but in the end had to settle for second.

Pramac Ducati’s Scott Redding came through to claim the final place on the podium following a late pass on Pol Espargaro.

Redding, who finished fourth in the race’s first segment, fought back from falling to 11th at the start of the restart.

Espargaro finished fourth ahead of the Ducati’s Andrea Iannone and Avintia Ducati’s Hector Barbera.

Aspar Ducati’s Eugene Laverty produced an impressive ride to seventh, while Stefan Bradl, Maverick Vinales (Suzuki) and Yamaha’s Jorge Lorenzo completed the top 10.

Alvaro Bautista, Michele Pirro, Aleix Espargaro, Danilo Petrucci, Cal Crutchlow and Yonny Hernandez, who led much of the first 14 laps, joined the list of retirements.

Marquez has opened up a 24 point lead in the championship standings courtesy of his second place finish.

Miller, who earlier confirmed he will stay at Marc VDS Honda next season, has climbed to 13th spot.

The World Championship heads to Germany’s Sachsenring from July 15-17.

Result: MotoGP Assen TT

Position Rider Team Gap
1 Jack Miller Marc VDS Honda 12 Laps
2 Marc Marquez Honda 1.991s
3 Scott Redding Pramac Ducati 5.906s
4 Pol Espargaro Tech3 Yamaha 9.812s
5 Andrea Iannone Ducati 17.835s
6 Hector Barbera Avintia Ducati 18.692s
7 Eugene Laverty Aspar Ducati 22.605s
8 Stefan Bradl Aprilia 23.603s
9 Maverick Vinales Suzuki 26.148s
10 Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha 27.604s
11 Tito Rabat Marc VDS Honda 1m21.830s
12 Dani Pedrosa Honda 1m54.369s
13 Bradley Smith Tech3 Yamaha 3 Laps
DNF Alvaro Bautista Aprilia Retirement
DNF Michele Pirro Avintia Ducati Retirement
DNF Valentino Rossi Yamaha Retirement
DNF Aleix Espargaro Suzuki Retirement
DNF Andrea Dovizioso Ducati Retirement
DNF Danilo Petrucci Pramac Ducati Retirement
DNF Yonny Hernandez Aspar Ducati Retirement
DNF Cal Crutchlow LCR Honda Retirement

Championship Standings

Position Rider Points
1 Marc Marquez 145
2 Jorge Lorenzo 121
3 Valentino Rossi 103
4 Dani Pedrosa 86
5 Maverick Vinales 79
6 Pol Espargaro 72
7 Hector Barbera 58
8 Andrea Iannone 52
9 Aleix Espargaro 49
10 Eugene Laverty 48
11 Andrea Dovizioso 43
12 Stefan Bradl 37
13 Jack Miller 33
14 Scott Redding 32
15 Bradley Smith 32
16 Alvaro Bautista 29
17 Danilo Petrucci 24
18 Cal Crutchlow 20
19 Michele Pirro 19
20 Tito Rabat 18
21 Loris Baz 8
22 Yonny Hernandez 3 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!