Van Gisbergen wins crash-marred Race 13

Shane van Gisbergen

Shane van Gisbergen

Shane van Gisbergen made amends for a costly mistake on Saturday by storming to his second win of the season in Race 13 at Hidden Valley.

The 200km contest was marred by a heavy crash on the opening lap that saw Team 18’s Lee Holdsworth taken to hospital with a suspected broken leg.

A wild opening lap also saw a big hit for Fabian Coulthard and Chaz Mostert that took both Fords out of contention.

CLICK HERE for’s separate story on the accidents.


Pole-sitter Van Gisbergen endured a scrappy first lap of his own, losing out to Todd Kelly off the start before dropping to eighth by running wide at Turn 5.

The early action required a lengthy Safety Car, which saw the field pile into what proved a chaotic pitlane.

Craig Lowndes emerged from the stops with the lead from Kelly, Mark Winterbottom, Van Gisbergen and Tim Slade.

Van Gisbergen immediately moved to second on the restart when Winterbottom misjudged the braking area and punted the back of Kelly, earning the Ford a drive-through penalty.

A second Safety Car was required after another wild restart lap, which this time saw Scott Pye clatter into Michael Caruso at Turn 6, leaving the Ford stranded on the circuit.

Will Davison and Jamie Whincup were among few to take another drink of fuel under the yellows having already lost track position when forced to stack at the opening round of stops.

Van Gisbergen took the lead from Lowndes at the second restart and subsequently held the advantage when the second stops unfolded at half distance.

A late Safety Car due to tyre debris from Tim Blanchard’s Holden then provided a nine lap shootout to the end, which Van Gisbergen controlled comfortably.

Slade scored second after jumping Lowndes at the second stops and holding out the TeamVortex entry in the closing laps.

Davison made the best of his three-stop strategy to take fourth ahead of James Courtney, who salvaged a solid result from a rough weekend at the Holden Racing Team.

Michael Caruso, Scott McLaughlin, Jamie Whincup, David Reynolds and James Moffat filled sixth through 10th.

Winterbottom eventually finished 20th after receiving a second drive-through penalty while running 16th with four laps remaining, this time for contact with Aaren Russell.

His early sparring partner Todd Kelly finished 13th, while Rick Kelly was 15th after being delayed in Pye’s early accident.

Whincup now leads the championship by 30 points from Lowndes, with McLaughlin a further 15 back in third and Winterbottom falling to fourth.

Result: Virgin Australia Supercars Championship CrownBet Darwin Triple Crown Race 13 

1 Red Bull Racing Australia Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 70 01:32:52.6896
2 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 70 01:32:54.2551
3 TeamVortex Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 70 01:32:54.6504
4 Team Darrell Lea STIX Will Davison Holden Commodore VF 70 01:32:55.2878
5 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 70 01:32:58.8954
6 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 70 01:33:00.1717
7 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 70 01:33:00.9130
8 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 70 01:33:01.5167
9 Erebus Motorsport Penrite David Reynolds Holden Commodore VF 70 01:33:01.9311
10 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Moffat Volvo S60 70 01:33:02.6310
11 Super Black Racing Chris Pither Ford Falcon FG/X 70 01:33:03.0048
12 ABRO/Repair Management Aust Andre Heimgartner Holden Commodore VF 70 01:33:03.8084
13 carsales Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 70 01:33:04.1467
14 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 70 01:33:04.6631
15 Sengled Motorsport Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 70 01:33:06.0221
16 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 70 01:33:06.7164
17 ABRO/Repair Management Aust Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 70 01:33:08.3760
18 GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Nissan Altima 70 01:33:08.7884
19 Plus Fitness Racing Aaren Russell Holden Commodore VF 70 01:33:17.3483
20 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 70 01:33:38.4241
21 Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 69 01:33:04.9519
22 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 64 01:33:35.6871
23 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 55 01:33:42.6206
DNF DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X  7    15:07.8182
DNF DJR Team Penske Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG/X
DNF Preston Hire Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF

Championship Standings

1 Jamie Whincup 1275
2 Craig Lowndes 1245
3 Scott McLaughlin 1230
4 Mark Winterbottom 1212
5 Shane Van Gisbergen 1204
6 Will Davison 1152
7 Michael Caruso 1035
8 Tim Slade 1023
9 Rick Kelly  921
10 James Courtney  909
11 Garth Tander  907
12 Chaz Mostert  869
13 Todd Kelly  865
14 Fabian Coulthard  796
15 Jason Bright  795
16 Scott Pye  775
17 David Reynolds  775
18 Cameron Waters  685
19 Lee Holdsworth  648
20 James Moffat  624
21 Nick Percat  591
22 Chris Pither  550
23 Dale Wood  535
24 Tim Blanchard  506
25 Andre Heimgartner  464
26 Aaren Russell  384

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]