Davison wins Carrera Cup in Darwin

The podium from the Carrera Cup in Darwin

The podium from the Carrera Cup in Darwin

Alex Davison has won the final race of the Carrera Cup in Darwin and in the process took the round victory.

Davison, who also won the opening race and was second in the other, beat home David Wall and Steve Richards.

The result sees Davison sit just 4.5 points behind championship leader Matt Campbell, who recovered from a tough second race to finish sixth in the final race.

Davison’s victory was set-up off the start as he led Wall and Richards into Turn 1. Behind, a coming together between James Bergmuller and Stephen Grove brought out the Safety Car.

The ensuing re-start caused some confusion down the field as a number of drivers were penalised for passing or overlapping before the start/finish line.

One of those was Tony Bates, who despite taking the chequered flag first in the Tag Heuer Carrera Challenge, was given a  five second penalty and dropped behind Shane Smollen who took the victory in the semi-pro class.

Up front Davison was well in control as he took the chequered flag for his second win of the season, after taking honours at the Australian Grand Prix event.

Wall came home second for the race and the weekend, while Richards held out a determined Dean Fiore.

A tough final race for Nick McBride who appeared to have transmission issues, which saw him off the circuit twice. He finished back in 17th.

The Carrera Cup will next appear at the Sydney Motorsport Park event in August, where Carrera Cup Asia will also be on the bill.

VIDEO: Round winners discuss the Darwin weekend

RESULTS: Race 3 – Carrera Cup

Pos No. Driver Team Class
1   25  Alex Davison  Wilson Parking  P
2   38  David Wall  Wilson Security  P
3   12  Steven Richards  Laser Plumbing and Electrical  P
4    8  Dean Fiore  Saint/Porsche Centre Melbourne  P
5  777  Ash Walsh  Bob Jane T-Marts/Infants Frien  P
6    7  Matt Campbell  Nuveau Constructions/Phase 8  P
7   54  James Abela  Horsley Park Gunshop  P
8   21  Garth Walden  CIP/GWR  P
9   88  Dylan O’Keeffe  Allstar Equipment/Dexion Suppl  P
10   45  Duvashen Padayachee  Darrell Lea STIX  P
11   56  Shane Smollen  McGrath Estate Agents  C
12   24  Tony Bates  Moveitnet/A.F.S  C
13  222  Scott Taylor  Scott Taylor Motorsport  C
14    9  Marc Cini  Hallmarc  C
15  360  Fraser Ross  Preston Hire  P
16   26  Michael Almond  Copyworld  P
17   77  Nick McBride  Bob Jane T-Marts  P
18   39  Adrian Mastronardo  Veritas Property Group  C
DNF    4  Stephen Grove  Grove Hire  C
DNF   13  James Bergmuller  pricepressure.com.au  C


Position Driver Points
1 Matt Campbell 546.5
2 Alex Davison 542
3 Nick McBride 509
4 David Wall 443
5 Steven Richards 383
6 Ash Walsh 364
7 Michael Almond 294
8 Fraser Ross 273.5
9 Dean Fiore 268
10 Duvashen Padayachee 225.5
11 Tony Bates 225
12 Shane Smollen 222
13 James Bergmuller 215.5
14 Dylan O’Keeffe 176
15 James Abela 155.5
16 Adrian Mastronardo 140.5
17 Stephen Grove 135
18 Garth Walden 123.5
19 Shane van Gisbergen 117
20 Marc Cini 112.5
21 Scott Taylor 24


STANDINGS : Tag Heuer Carrera Challenge

Position Driver Points
1 Tony Bates 586.5
2 Shane Smollen 558
3 James Bergmuller 490.5
4 Adrian Mastronardo 470.5
5 Stephen Grove 441
6 Marc Cini 406.5
7 Scott Taylor 80


Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]