Ricciardo caught out by new Baku circuit

Daniel Ricciardo's damaged Red Bull RB12

Daniel Ricciardo’s damaged Red Bull RB12 pic F1 Twitter

Daniel Ricciardo became the first victim of the challenging Baku street circuit following a crash in opening practice.

The Red Bull driver slid wide on the entry to Turn 15 which resulted in a slow speed collision with the barriers, bringing out the red flags in the maiden Formula 1 session at the Azerbaijani venue.

Ricciardo escaped the crash unscathed although his RB12 sustained heavy damage to the right rear.

The Australian ended the session in 13th position.

The 6km circuit has attracted criticism from drivers prior to this weekend’s European Grand Prix due to its lack of run-off areas at certain points of the track.

Several drivers were caught out by the circuit resulting in excursions down escape roads, while Lewis Hamilton brushed the wall at Turn 3.

Toro Rosso’s Carlos Sainz also damaged his front wing after making slight contact with the wall at Turn 15.

Hamilton topped the times despite sitting out the final 30 minutes of the session after he flat spotted his tyres following the brush with the wall.

The reigning world champion was 0.3s quicker than Mercedes team-mate Nico Rosberg with the Williams of Valtteri Bottas in third.

McLaren’s Fernando Alonso was fourth fastest ahead of Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel and Force India’s Sergio Perez.

Practice 2 is due to begin at 2300 AEST.

Result: European Grand Prix Practice 1

Position Driver Car Time Gap Laps
1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:46.435s 23
2 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:46.812s 0.377s 32
3 Valtteri Bottas Williams/Mercedes 1:47.096s 0.661s 34
4 Fernando Alonso McLaren/Honda 1:47.989s 1.554s 21
5 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:48.627s 2.192s 26
6 Sergio Perez Force India/Mercedes 1:48.922s 2.487s 17
7 Jenson Button McLaren/Honda 1:49.019s 2.584s 21
8 Felipe Massa Williams/Mercedes 1:49.125s 2.690s 22
9 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso/Ferrari 1:49.267s 2.832s 16
10 Nico Hulkenberg Force India/Mercedes 1:49.301s 2.866s 27
11 Romain Grosjean Haas/Ferrari 1:49.611s 3.176s 20
12 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:49.635s 3.200s 16
13 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull/Renault 1:49.778s 3.343s 17
14 Esteban Gutierrez Haas/Ferrari 1:50.167s 3.732s 25
15 Marcus Ericsson Sauber/Ferrari 1:50.473s 4.038s 18
16 Max Verstappen Red Bull/Renault 1:50.485s 4.050s 7
17 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso/Ferrari 1:50.551s 4.116s 19
18 Jolyon Palmer Renault 1:50.910s 4.475s 25
19 Kevin Magnussen Renault 1:50.939s 4.504s 27
20 Pascal Wehrlein Manor/Mercedes 1:51.219s 4.784s 24
21 Felipe Nasr Sauber/Ferrari 1:51.771s 5.336s 11
22 Rio Haryanto Manor/Mercedes 1:51.925s 5.490s 28

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]