Shahin holds off Tander in Aus GT Race 2

Yasser Shahin leads the field

Yasser Shahin leads the field

Yasser Shahin delivered a surprise victory in the second Australian GT Championship race at Phillip Island.

The Australian GT rookie led the early stages having started from the front row before dropping to fourth ahead of the mandatory pit stops.

Shahin fought valiantly against an array of professional drivers in the opening stint before eventually succumbing to Dean Canto (Lamborghini) and Craig Baird (Mercedes).

After taking his compulsory pit stop from fourth, Shahin then launched an attack on the lead group after rejoining the race in the same position.

The South Australian managed to pass the M Motorsport Lamborghini of Glen Wood for the lead in the final five minutes of the race.

Wood had no answer for Shahin who opened up a healthy lead, as the Jamec Pem Racing Audi of Garth Tander closed in on the top two after a storming second stint.

In the end, Shahin took the chequered flag from a hard charging Tander who scythed his way from 13th during his run.

Wood was left to settle for third in the Gallardo he shared with Justin McMillan.

The Tekno Autosports McLaren of Matt Kingsley and Grant Denyer produced a solid drive throughout to finish fourth.

Equally as impressive was former Australian Formula 3 driver Ricky Capo who ran inside the top 10 for the entire race, ending up in fifth spot at the wheel of the BMW Z4.

Meanwhile, Liam Talbot’s return to Australian GT yielded a sixth place finish in the Audi he shared with Jake Fouracre.

Eggleston Motorsport’s Peter Hackett ran strongly in the second stint to claim seventh ahead of the Scott Taylor/Craig Baird Mercedes and the Cameron McConville/Adrian Deitz Ferrari 458 GT3.

Race one winner and pole-sitter Nathan Morcom ran as high as fifth in the opening stint, but was left to fight back from 20th after the pit stops to round out the top 10.

Shane van Gisbergen was the star of the opening half of the race as he secured the lead on the second lap which he held until the pit stops.

The Kiwi handed the car to Klark Quinn in 21st position. The former Australian GT champion could only recover to 16th spot in the remainder of the race.

Meanwhile, the SRM BMW M6 GT3 looked to be on course for a second top 10 finish before a problem saw it enter the pits in the closing stages.

Canto was another driver to miss out on a strong result as a mechanical issue saw him retire the Taplin Lamborghini while involved in a lead group battle in the first half of the race.

The race was punctuated by two Safety Car periods. The first was caused by the stranded Walkinshaw Racing Porsche 911 GT3 R, while an off from the Miedecke Aston Martin prompted the second deployment.

Australian GT will be back in action on Sunday for the inaugural round of the Australian Endurance Championship. will broadcast the round in its entirety.

Result: Australian GT Championship Race 2

1 The Bend Motorsport Yasser Shahin (SA) Lamborghini Gallardo 34 01:00:08.8704
2 JAMEC PEM Racing S.McLaughlin/G.Tander Audi R8 LMS 34 01:00:09.3560
3 Interlloy M Motorsport J.McMillan/G.Wood Lamborghini R-EX 34 01:00:10.6431
4 McLaren Melbourne G.Denyer/M.Kingsley McLaren 650s GT3 34 01:00:18.4061
5 Modena Engineering Ricky Capo (Vic) BMW Z4 GT3 34 01:00:21.5560
6 Maranello Motorsport L.Talbot/J.Fouracre Audi R8 LMS Ultra 34 01:00:45.7355
7 Eggleston Motorsport P.Hackett/D.Storey Mercedes AMG SLS-GT3 34 01:00:48.0400
8 Scott Taylor Motorsport S.Taylor/C.Baird Mercedes AMG SLS-GT3 34 01:00:49.9828
9 Maranello Motorsport A.Deitz/C.McConville Ferrari 458 GT3 34 01:00:51.0998
10 DPO Nathan Morcom (Qld) McLaren 650S GT3 34 01:00:51.5592
11 JAMEC PEM Racing M.Molina/T.Bates Audi R8LMS 34 01:00:54.4503
12 Bondi Wholefoods Ash Samadi (Vic) Mercedes AMG SLS-GT3 34 01:01:01.9657
13 Maranello Motorsport T.D’Alberto/G.Smythe Ferrari 458 GT3 34 01:01:04.1510
14 JBS Australia Roger Lago (Qld) Lamborghini R-EX 34 01:01:05.2844
15 Darrell Lea T.Quinn/D.Gaunt Aston Martin Vantage 34 01:01:05.4745
16 Darrell Lea K.Quinn/S.Van Gisbergen McLaren 650S GT3 34 01:01:07.4449
17 Objective Racing Tony Walls (Qld) McLaren 6505 GT3 34 01:01:16.7486
18 Supabarn Supermarkets J.Koundouris/M.Marshall Audi R8 LMS 34 01:01:19.8432
19 Maranello Motorsport Peter Edwards (Vic) Ferrari 488 GT3 34 01:01:28.8362
20 Performance West Motorsport A.Rullo/P.Rullo Lamborghini Gallardo 34 01:01:32.6941
21 Fastway Couriers S.Ellingham/T.Miles Audi R8 Ultra 34 01:01:37.2381
22 Taplin Real Estate A.Taplin/D.Canto Lamborghini Gallardo 33 01:00:18.3261
23 GT Motorsport G.Taylor/M.Bonanomi Audi R8 LMS 33 01:00:18.3989
24 Beechwood / SLR / Buildmap N.Antunes/E.Barbour McLaren 650S GT3 33 01:01:00.1869
25 MARC GT M.Haber/B.Spengler BMW AG M6 GT3 32 01:01:07.8560
DNF SR Motorsport S.Richards/M.Twigg BMW M6 GT3 26    48:33.5181
DNF Miedecke Motor Group Andrew Miedecke (NSW) Aston Martin Vantage  9    17:29.6346
DNF Walkinshaw GT3 Aaron Tebb Porsche 911 GT3-R  1     1:42.5609
DNF AMAC Motorsport Brad Shiels (NSW) Porsche 997 GT-R

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]