Tander pips SVG to secure Aus GT pole

Garth Tander

Garth Tander

Garth Tander continued his impressive pace to claim pole position in a hotly contested Australian GT Championship qualifying session at Phillip Island.

The V8 Supercars star produced a last gasp 1:26.8s effort to edge the McLaren 650S of Shane van Gisbergen to the top spot.

Driving the Steve McLaughlan owned Jamec Pem Racing Audi R8, Tander proved to be just 0.14s quicker than the Kiwi, who held the top spot for the majority of the session.

Times posted in Q2 eclipsed the pace set in the opening session as track conditions improved following an earlier rain shower.

Factory Audi driver Marco Bonanomi will head up the second row in the #5 GT Motorsport Audi he will share with Greg Taylor.

The Elliot Barbour/Nathan Antunes McLaren 650S completed the second row.

BMW enjoyed a much stronger showing courtesy of Steven Richards, who put the SRM M6 GT3 in fifth just ahead of the Supabarn Supermarkets Audi R8 of Marcus Marshall.

Scott Taylor Motorsport’s Craig Baird (Mercedes) pumped in a time to pip factory Audi DTM ace Miguel Molina in the #1 Audi R8 GT3 for seventh.

The Walkinshaw Racing Porsche driven by John Martin and Duvashen Padaychee was ninth, while Nathan Morcom rounded out the top 10 in his McLaren 650S.

MARC GT will start from 11th on the grid for its maiden GT3 race thanks to Bruno Spengler’s effort.

The top 13 runners were covered by a second.

Teams were forced to endure a brief delay before Q2 was given the green light due to a heavy shunt involving Mark Griffith at the end of Q1. Griffith’s Mercedes hit the wall hard at Turn 7.

The Australian GT Championship will return to action on Saturday with two 60 minute sprint races scheduled.

Speedcafe.com will broadcast both races from Phillip Island on Saturday.

Result: Australian GT Championship Qualifying 2

1 JAMEC PEM Racing Garth Tander (Vic) Audi R8 LMS 1:26.8933*
2 Darrell Lea Shane Van Gisbergen McLaren 650S GT3 1:27.0354 00.1421
3 GT Motorsport Marco Bonanomi Audi R8 LMS 1:27.1049 00.2116
4 Beechwood / SLR / Buildmap Elliot Barbour McLaren 650S GT3 1:27.1931 00.2998
5 SR Motorsport Steve Richards (Vic) BMW M6 GT3 1:27.3346 00.4413
6 Supabarn Supermarkets Marcus Marshall Audi R8 LMS 1:27.3718 00.4785
7 Scott Taylor Motorsport Craig Baird (Qld) Mercedes AMG SLS-GT3 1:27.4263 00.5330
8 JAMEC PEM Racing Miguel Molina Audi R8LMS 1:27.5099 00.6166
9 Walkinshaw GT3 Aaron Tebb Porsche 911 GT3-R 1:27.5556 00.6623
10 DPO Nathan Morcom (Qld) McLaren 650S GT3 1:27.5950 00.7017
11 MARC GT Bruno Spengler (SUI) BMW AG M6 GT3 1:27.7408 00.8475
12 Darrell Lea Daniel Gaunt Aston Martin Vantage 1:27.8740 00.9807
13 Eggleston Motorsport Dominic Storey Mercedes AMG SLS-GT3 1:27.8812 00.9879
14 Taplin Real Estate Dean Canto (SA) Lamborghini Gallardo 1:28.0713 01.1780
15 Interlloy M Motorsport Glen Wood (Vic) Lamborghini R-EX 1:28.1726 01.2793
16 Modena Engineering Ricky Capo (Vic) BMW Z4 GT3 1:28.4509 01.5576
17 Maranello Motorsport Graham Smythe (NZ) Ferrari 458 GT3 1:28.6850 01.7917
18 Maranello Motorsport Cameron McConville (Vic) Ferrari 458 GT3 1:28.7632 01.8699
19 Maranello Motorsport Peter Edwards (Vic) Ferrari 488 GT3 1:29.3623 02.4690
20 AMAC Motorsport Brad Shiels (NSW) Porsche 997 GT-R 1:29.5247 02.6314
21 Maranello Motorsport Jake Fouracre (Vic) Audi R8 LMS Ultra 1:29.5571 02.6638
22 JBS Australia Roger Lago (Qld) Lamborghini R-EX 1:29.5928 02.6995
23 The Bend Motorsport Yasser Shahin (SA) Lamborghini Gallardo 1:29.6992 02.8059
24 Objective Racing Tony Walls (Qld) McLaren 6505 GT3 1:29.8093 02.9160
25 Miedecke Motor Group George Miedecke (QLD) Aston Martin Vantage 1:29.8456 02.9523
26 Fastway Couriers Tim Miles (NSW) Audi R8 Ultra 1:30.1942 03.3009
27 Bondi Wholefoods Ash Samadi (Vic) Mercedes AMG SLS-GT3 1:32.8499 05.9566
28 McLaren Melbourne Matthew Kingsley (Qld) McLaren 650s GT3 1:40.1711 13.2778

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]