Slade scores maiden V8 Supercars race win

Tim Slade scored victory in Race 10

Tim Slade scored victory in Race 10

Tim Slade turned pole position into a popular maiden V8 Supercars victory in Race 10 of the season at Winton.

In his 227th career V8 Supercars start, the Brad Jones Racing Holden driver put in a commanding performance to lead every lap outside the pitstop cycle.

Scott McLaughlin tracked Slade through the opening stint before the Holden and Volvo pitted on laps 10 and 11 of 40 respectively.

Slade’s one second advantage doubled in the stops.

The 30-year-old then extended his margin to more than five seconds before cruising to a 4.3s victory.

The result marks the ninth different V8 Supercars winner from 10 races this season.

“Finally. Man, what a feeling,” beamed Slade post-race.

“I got out of the car and didn’t really know what to do. It’s awesome.

“I can’t thank Brad and Kim (Jones, team owners) and everyone at BJR enough.

“Thanks to everyone who has supported me. It’s a pretty crazy feeling.”

McLaughlin had been the big mover at the start, rocketing from fourth on the grid to second at Turn 1.

The Volvo driver spent the bulk of the race holding off front-row starter Mark Winterbottom, who proved unable to find a way by.

Rick Kelly, Jamie Whincup, Will Davison and Chaz Mostert rounded out the top seven, all finishing nose-to-tail thanks to the Volvo.

Davison was among the last to pit but was robbed of a stronger result thanks to a slow pitstop.

Caruso, Shane van Gisbergen and Lee Holdsworth completed the top 10, while Craig Lowndes had a disappointing run to 14th.

Cameron Waters and James Courtney managed just 16th and 19th respectively after a high-speed collision that will be the subject of a post-race investigation.

The incident occurred after Will Davison emerged from pitlane narrowly ahead of a train of cars that included Michael Caruso, Waters and Courtney.

Waters squeezed the HRT Commodore for room on the exit of Turn 4 before contact with the left-rear door of the Monster Falcon sent the youngster spinning at the following turn.

The results see McLaughlin take over the lead in the championship, 21 points ahead of Whincup.

Erstwhile leader Lowndes drops to third, a further nine points adrift of his team-mate.

Result: Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Woodstock Winton Super Sprint Race 10

1 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 40 54:40.4946
2 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 40 54:44.8552
3 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 40 54:45.0781
4 Sengled Motorsport Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 40 54:45.6718
5 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 40 54:45.9471
6 Team Darrell Lea STIX Will Davison Holden Commodore VF 40 54:46.7209
7 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 40 54:47.0187
8 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 40 54:51.0728
9 Red Bull Racing Australia Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 40 54:51.2290
10 Preston Hire Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 40 54:51.5389
11 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 40 54:55.5487
12 DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X 40 54:56.0217
13 carsales Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 40 54:56.3848
14 GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Nissan Altima 40 54:59.5994
15 TeamVortex Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 40 55:01.4180
16 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 40 55:01.8607
17 DJR Team Penske Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG/X 40 55:02.2878
18 Super Black Racing Chris Pither Ford Falcon FG/X 40 55:06.6170
19 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 40 55:07.1403
20 Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 40 55:08.6448
21 ABRO/Repair Management Aust Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 40 55:08.8140
22 Erebus Motorsport Penrite David Reynolds Holden Commodore VF 40 55:10.8953
23 ABRO/Repair Management Aust Andre Heimgartner Holden Commodore VF 40 55:22.3766
24 Plus Fitness Racing Aaren Russell Holden Commodore VF 40 55:28.4370
25 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 39 54:54.3418
26 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Moffat Volvo S60 35 55:30.9400

Championship Standings

1 Scott McLaughlin 984
2 Jamie Whincup 963
3 Craig Lowndes 954
4 Mark Winterbottom 945
5 Shane Van Gisbergen 887
6 Will Davison 858
7 Rick Kelly 741
8 Garth Tander 739
9 James Courtney 726
10 Michael Caruso 705
11 Tim Slade 669
12 Chaz Mostert 659
13 Todd Kelly 637
14 Jason Bright 612
15 Scott Pye 568
16 Fabian Coulthard 565
17 Lee Holdsworth 558
18 David Reynolds 535
19 Cameron Waters 502
20 Nick Percat 501
21 James Moffat 498
22 Tim Blanchard 377
23 Dale Wood 376
24 Chris Pither 364
25 Andre Heimgartner 302
26 Aaren Russell 264

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]