Van Gisbergen leads the way in Practice 2

Shane van Gisbergen

Shane van Gisbergen

Shane van Gisbergen recorded the quickest time in Practice 2 at Winton as Triple Eight asserted its authority at the top of the order.

The Holden squad moved into the top three spots with five minutes remaining as Van Gisbergen’s 1:19.33s effort was all but matched by Jamie Whincup and Craig Lowndes in quick succession.

Only a late effort from Rick Kelly, who slotted his Nissan into second with one minute on the clock, prevented a Triple Eight whitewash.

The result was a solid rebound for Kelly, who had missed the bulk of Practice 1 with a clutch problem.

All of the top runners narrowly missed out on edging Tim Slade’s 1:19.24s best from the opening session, which remained the fastest of the day.

Cooler track conditions greeted the drivers for the late afternoon running, which was expected to produce fast times.

Dirt being brought onto the resurfaced circuit from the apex of Turn 8, however, appeared to hurt times, with several drivers losing their best efforts as they slid wide of the apex.

Just 0.43s separated the top 10 at the end of the session, with fifth through 10th filled by Fabian Coulthard, Jason Bright, Chris Pither, Mark Winterbottom, James Courtney and Scott McLaughlin.

Despite the final result, it wasn’t all smooth sailing for Triple Eight as Whincup spent 20 minutes garage bound mid-session while the team attended to a suspension problem.

“I felt something a bit odd so we pitted and checked it over but then it finally broke when we went back out,” explained Whincup.

“I think it broke a wishbone. It just pulled out of the housing.”

The session concluded with a test of a new Safety Car system that, when engaged, prevents drivers travelling at more than 100km/h.

Result: Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Woodstock Winton Super Sprint Practice 2

1 Red Bull Racing Australia Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 1:19.3311*S
2 Sengled Motorsport Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:19.4332 S 00.1021
3 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 1:19.4882 S 00.1571
4 TeamVortex Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 1:19.5556 S 00.2245
5 DJR Team Penske Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG/X 1:19.6280 S 00.2969
6 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 1:19.7184 S 00.3873
7 Super Black Racing Chris Pither Ford Falcon FG/X 1:19.7296 S 00.3985
8 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 1:19.7301 S 00.3990
9 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 1:19.7599 S 00.4288
10 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 1:19.7627 S 00.4316
11 Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 1:19.7994 S 00.4683
12 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1:19.8617 S 00.5306
13 carsales Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 1:19.9175 S 00.5864
14 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 1:19.9374 S 00.6063
15 DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X 1:20.0124 S 00.6813
16 ABRO/Repair Management Aust Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 1:20.0731 S 00.7420
17 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Moffat Volvo S60 1:20.1760 S 00.8449
18 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 1:20.1803 S 00.8492
19 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 1:20.2178 S 00.8867
20 ABRO/Repair Management Aust Andre Heimgartner Holden Commodore VF 1:20.2618 S 00.9307
21 GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Nissan Altima 1:20.2874 S 00.9563
22 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 1:20.4318 S 01.1007
23 Preston Hire Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 1:20.4421 S 01.1110
24 Erebus Motorsport Penrite David Reynolds Holden Commodore VF 1:20.6396 S 01.3085
25 Team Darrell Lea STIX Will Davison Holden Commodore VF 1:20.8488 S 01.5177
26 Plus Fitness Racing Aaren Russell Holden Commodore VF 1:20.9670 S 01.6359

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]