Slade sets record pace in Winton practice

Tim Slade

Tim Slade

Tim Slade emerged fastest from a record setting opening V8 Supercars primary driver practice session on the resurfaced Winton Motor Raceway.

The Brad Jones Racing recruit, who topped pre-season testing at the venue earlier in the year, shot to the top of the order on 1:19.24s two minutes from the end of the hour long session.

That time proved 0.15s quicker than previous fast man Cameron Waters, who six minutes earlier had been the first to undercut Fabian Coulthard’s 2014 practice record of 1:19.65s.

“It does feel pretty amazing out there,” said Slade, who sat P10 prior to his late lap.

“It’s good fun and it encourages you to keep pushing because there’s a lot of grip on offer.

“I think on new tyres we’ll get another chunk of time.”

Scott McLaughlin was among a handful of others to move to another set of softs late in the session, falling just 0.04s short of Waters to end up third.

James Courtney and Shane van Gisbergen moved into fourth and fifth in the final minutes, before the latter endured a trip through the dirt at Turn 3 on his final lap.

Seventh placed Todd Kelly spent much of the first half of the session atop the order before Fabian Coulthard, Garth Tander, Waters and ultimately Slade took over the front-running.

Frustrated team-mate Rick Kelly missed the bulk of the session while his team attended to a clutch issue on the Sengled entry.

“Heeling and toe-ing down the gears the clutch was staying in and then popping back out,” explained the 2006 champion.

“It really unsettles the car under brakes so we thought there was no point belting around with the issue.”

Alex Rullo (Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport) and Richie Stanaway (Super Black) were the only additional drivers seen in Practice 1 following their own dedicated session earlier in the afternoon.

LDM made a late decision to give Rullo laps on soft tyres at the start of the hour, leaving primary driver Andre Heimgarter temporarily on the sidelines.

Result: Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Woodstock Winton Super Sprint Practice 1

1 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 1:19.2435RS
2 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 1:19.3927rS 00.1492
3 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 1:19.4388rS 00.1953
4 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 1:19.4525rS 00.2090
5 Red Bull Racing Australia Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 1:19.4654rS 00.2219
6 carsales Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 1:19.8269 S 00.5834
7 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 1:19.8485 S 00.6050
8 GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Nissan Altima 1:19.8713 S 00.6278
9 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 1:19.8831 S 00.6396
10 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 1:19.8939 S 00.6504
11 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 1:19.9221 S 00.6786
12 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 1:20.0266 S 00.7831
13 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1:20.0979 S 00.8544
14 DJR Team Penske Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG/X 1:20.2431 S 00.9996
15 ABRO/Repair Management Aus Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 1:20.2571 S 01.0136
16 DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X 1:20.2979 S 01.0544
17 Erebus Motorsport Penrite David Reynolds Holden Commodore VF 1:20.3461 S 01.1026
18 Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 1:20.3822 S 01.1387
19 Preston Hire Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 1:20.3955 S 01.1520
20 Sengled Motorsport Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:20.4292 S 01.1857
21 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Moffat Volvo S60 1:20.5077 S 01.2642
22 TeamVortex Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 1:20.5654 S 01.3219
23 Plus Fitness Racing Aaren Russell Holden Commodore VF 1:20.5817 S 01.3382
24 Team Darrell Lea STIX Will Davison Holden Commodore VF 1:20.7828 S 01.5393
25 ABRO/Repair Management Aus A.Heimgartner/A.Rullo Holden Commodore VF 1:20.8765 S 01.6330
26 Super Black Racing C.Pither/R.Stanaway Ford Falcon FG/X 1:21.0311 S 01.7876

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]