Prodrive pair top Winton co-driver practice

Steve Owen

Steve Owen

Steve Owen and Jack Le Brocq saw Prodrive record a one-two in the co-driver practice session at the Woodstock Winton Super Sprint.

The duo traded the fastest time in the closing seconds of the 30 minutes, with Owen’s final 1:20.31s proving 0.07s quicker than Le Brocq’s best.

Team stalwart Owen is this year driving the squad’s Supercheap Ford alongside Chaz Mostert, while Le Brocq has moved from Erebus to team with Cameron Waters.

Today’s session was one of two dedicated co-driver practice runs for the year ahead of September’s Sandown 500.


“It’s a good way to blow the cobwebs out,” said Owen, who is without a full-time drive in any class this year

“The car is great and I’m really comfortable in Chaz’s seating position. It’s a good introduction to a new combination.”

Dean Canto made it three Prodrive Fords in the top four, with the team’s cars split only by Nissan’s Dean Fiore.

Russell Ingall (Nissan) and David Wall (Volvo) completed the top six while Macauley Jones, who led the way ahead of the final moments, ended up seventh.

DJR Team Penske’s Luke Youlden recovered from a mid-session spin at Turn 11 to be eighth, while Paul Dumbrell (Red Bull) and Ash Walsh (BJR) rounded out the top 10.

Elsewhere, Super Black’s Richie Stanaway ended his first competitive session aboard a V8 Supercar in 13th, while Nissan rookie Matt Campbell was 14th.

Volvo’s James Golding spent a brief moment at the top before falling to 16th, less than a second from Owen’s front-running pace.

Steven Richards managed 15th in Craig Lowndes’ Holden, despite missing 10 minutes of track time while the Triple Eight team attended to an early water pressure issue.

Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport’s Alex Rullo was the only driver not to run soft tyres in the session, ending up at the bottom of the 25-car order.

Shane van Gisbergen’s Holden was the only car not to hit the track, with his co-driver Alex Premat not travelling to Australia for the occasion.

Result: Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Woodstock Winton Super Sprint Additional driver Practice 

1 Supercheap Auto Racing Steve Owen Ford Falcon FG/X 1:20.3098
2 Monster Energy Racing Jack Le Brocq Ford Falcon FG/X 1:20.3799 00.0701
3 Nissan Motorsport Dean Fiore Nissan Altima 1:20.6062 00.2964
4 The Bottle-O Racing Team Dean Canto Ford Falcon FG/X 1:20.6937 00.3839
5 Sengled Motorsport Russell Ingall Nissan Altima 1:20.6946 00.3848
6 Wilson Security Racing GRM David Wall Volvo S60 1:20.8221 00.5123
7 Team Cooldrive Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VF 1:20.8677 00.5579
8 DJR Team Penske Luke Youlden Ford Falcon FG/X 1:20.9511 00.6413
9 Red Bull Racing Australia Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VF 1:21.0465 00.7367
10 Freightliner Racing Ashley Walsh Holden Commodore VF 1:21.0806 00.7708
11 Holden Racing Team Warren Luff Holden Commodore VF 1:21.0995 00.7897
12 GB Galvanizing Racing David Russell Nissan Altima 1:21.1036 00.7938
13 Super Black Racing Richie Stanaway Ford Falcon FG/X 1:21.1292 00.8194
14 carsales Racing Matthew Campbell Nissan Altima 1:21.1534 00.8436
15 TeamVortex Steven Richards Holden Commodore VF 1:21.2179 00.9081
16 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Golding Volvo S60 1:21.2182 00.9084
17 Team Darrell Lea STIX Jonathon Webb Holden Commodore VF 1:21.2862 00.9764
18 Erebus Motorsport Penrite Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VF 1:21.4382 01.1284
19 DJR Team Penske Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG/X 1:21.4782 01.1684
20 Holden Racing Team Jack Perkins Holden Commodore VF 1:21.5044 01.1946
21 Preston Hire Racing Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VF 1:21.5700 01.2602
22 Plus Fitness Racing Shae Davies Holden Commodore VF 1:21.7020 01.3922
23 ABRO/Repair Management Aust Cameron McConville Holden Commodore VF 1:21.7076 01.3978
24 Team BOC Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VF 1:21.8148 01.5050
25 ABRO/Repair Management Aust Alex Rullo Holden Commodore VF 1:22.7423 02.4325

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]