HDT inspired TCM A9X Torana unveiled

Jason Gomersall's TCM Torana A9X

Jason Gomersall’s TCM A9X Torana pic Matthew Paul Photography

Jason Gomersall will debut a newly built Holden Dealer Team inspired A9X Torana in the Touring Cars Masters at Winton this weekend.

The entry will be the first two-door A9X Torana to compete in the category following a rule change which now allow cars constructed up to 1978 to contest the category.

Built by Matt Stone Racing, the car will run the iconic red and white colours made famous by the Holden Dealer Team during the 1970s and 1980s.

Gomersall says racing a A9X Torana has been a long held dream and cannot wait to show off the new entry at the rural Victorian circuit.

“Some of my earliest memories of touring car racing was watching the Marlboro Holden Dearler Team A9X Toranas,” said Gomersall, who leads the Pro-Am Touring Car Masters points.

“As a kid I thought they were absolutely stunning-looking cars, and to my mind the MHDT A9X Torana is still, to this day, the most iconic Australian touring car ever built.”

“When I first joined the category in 2012 I was keen to build a Torana hatchback, but it wasn’t eligible at the time as the cut-off was up to 1976, but as soon as the 2-door did become an option I was determined to build one.

“A big thank you to the team at Matt Stone Racing for making this dream a reality.”

“They have spent many, many hours to build a truly amazing TCM car, and I also have to thank my sponsors for sharing the passion for this project — especially GRK Plumbing who have allowed their branding to be altered to replicate the MHDT livery of the day.”

The entry is not the only new Torana in the field with Victorian Bruce Williams set to make his TCM debut, as well in his recently finished 1974 SL/R 5000 Torana.

Williams’ entry was built by renowned engineer Les Small and is liveried as a tribute to the 1975 Bathurst 1000 winner driven by Peter Brock and Brian Sampson.

Torana A9X rear

pic: Matthew Paul Photography

Touring Car Masters Entry List  

No Sponsor Name Ch Name Surname State Year Make Model
2 Shannons Insurance Jim Richards VIC 1972 AMC Javelin
4 Skye Sands Rusty French VIC 1970 Ford Mustang Fastback
5 Performance & Race Tech Services Bruce Williams VIC 1974 Holden Torana SL/R 5000
7 Werks Garage / Red Rock Winery Rohan Little VIC 1974 Porsche 911 RS IROC
8 Bendigo Retro Muscle Cars Rob Burns VIC 1972 Holden Monaro GTS
9 Jesus Racing Andrew Fisher NSW 1971 Ford Falcon XY GTHO
12 Giraffe Civil Contracting Adam Garwood TAS 1974 Holden Torana SL/R 5000
17 Synergy Race Engines Steve Johnson QLD 1971 Ford Falcon XY GTHO
18 Wilson Security / PAYCE John Bowe VIC 1974 Holden Torana SL/R 5000
19 Tincone Industrial Services Darren Beale QLD 1972 Holden Monaro GTS Coupe
21 Giraffe Civil Contracting Greg Garwood TAS 1972 Ford Capri Perana
22 Aussie Muscle Car Run Graham Stewart SA 1972 Holden Monaro GTS Coupe
30 Thunder Road Racing Team Australia Glenn Seton QLD 1964 Ford Mustang Coupe
35 iseek Racing Jason Gomersall QLD 1978 Holden Torana A9X Hatchback
46 THD Motorsport Leo Tobin VIC 1969 Ford Boss Mustang
48 Melbournes Cheapest Cars Eddie Abelnica VIC 1974 Ford Falcon XB Coupe
60 Glennan Transport/ANGLOMOIL Lubricants Cameron Tilley NSW 1969 Valiant Pacer
74 Lyndways Builders Wayne Mercer VIC 1971 Ford Falcon XY GTHO
85 Whiteline Racing / King Springs Mark King QLD 1970 Chevrolet Camaro RS
88 TIFS – Warehousing & Distribution Tony Karanfilovski NSW 1969 Ford Mustang Trans Am
90 Werks Garage / Kalus Kenny Iterlex Sven Burchartz VIC 1974 Porsche 911 RS IROC

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]