Ex-Johnson/Bowe Falcon joins Kumho V8 grid

The ex-Dick Johnson/John Bowe EL Falcon in action at Mount Panorama in 1997

The ex-Dick Johnson/John Bowe EL Falcon in action at Mount Panorama in 1997

A Ford EL Falcon once raced by Dick Johnson and John Bowe will join an expanded 18 car grid for the second round of the Kumho V8 Touring Cars at Winton next week.

The Falcon, piloted by the former Australian touring car champions at the 1997 Primus 1000 at Mount Panorama, will return to competitive action at the rural Victorian circuit with Troy Stapleton at the wheel.

The Victorian racer is a new addition to the grid as the series joins the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship support bill for the first time this season.

Also set to make his Kumho V8 debut is Victorian saloon car racer David Wright, who will campaign an ex-Jason Bright Ford Performance Racing BF Falcon.

A competitive field is set to tackle the Woodstock Winton Super Sprint headed by series leader Taz Douglas, who will split his duties in the Dunlop Series this year.

Douglas leads the standings with a 32 point margin over Bryce Fullwood, courtesy of his round win at Sandown last month.

Fullwood is not scheduled to compete in the category next week.

Tyler Greenbury will head to Winton third in the standings after his strong start to the new season for Image Racing.

Meanwhile, Dunlop Series regular Matt Chahda will make his first Kumho appearance this year in a ex-Britek BA Falcon driven by Jack Sipp at the opening round.

As a result, Sipp will drive a Matt Stone Racing VE Commodore at Winton.

The Kumho V8 Touring Cars will tackle two, 20-minute practice sessions on Friday May 20.

Qualifying and the opening race will take place on Saturday May 21, followed by two further races on Sunday May 22.

Kumho V8 Touring Cars Winton Super Sprint Entry List

5 Priv Haymans Virginia/JCH Electrical Jason Heck Jason Heck QLD Ford Falcon BF 5000
6 Pro 501 Performance 501 Performance David Wright VIC Ford Falcon BF 5000
7 Priv MoComm Msports Communications Jim Pollicina Jim Pollicina NSW Commodore VE 5000
8 Priv Poco/Simons Earthworks Steve Briffa Steve Briffa NSW Commodore VZ 5000
11 Priv Kenwood Homes Michael Anderson Michael Anderson NSW Ford Falcon BF 5000
13 Pro Image Racing/Lubrimaxx Image Racing Tyler Greenbury QLD Ford Falcon BF 5000
14 Pro Brad Jones Racing Brad Jones Racing Joshua Smith QLD Commodore VE ll 5000
15 Pro Penrite/Car Advice Rsport Race Engineering Emily Duggan NSW Commodore VE 5000
16 Pro Image Racing/Lubrimaxx Leigh Moran Leigh Moran VIC Ford Falcon BA 5000
17 Priv Newton Motorsport/Petewell Engineering Troy Stapleton Troy Stapleton VIC Ford Falcon EL 5000
18 Priv Cavalier Homes Amin Chahda Matt Chahda VIC Ford Falcon BA 5000
25 Priv Savs Auto Electric/Westco Equip Dean Kovacevich Dean Kovacevich WA Commodore VE 5000
37 Priv Tempest Solutions Air & Mechanical Jim Pollicina Anthony Loscialpo NSW Commodore VE 5000
39 Pro Vectra Corp/Lubrimaxx Matt Stone Racing Chris Smerdon SA Ford Falcon FG 5000
45 Pro SA Racing Logist/THR Developments THR Developments Taz Douglas VIC Commodore VE 5000
66 Pro Unichip Dynomotive Matt Stone Racing Jack Sipp QLD Commodore VE 5000
75 Priv BSTRONG ELECTRICAL/Kirra Auto Brendan Strong Brendan Strong NSW Commodore VZ 5000
88 Priv Simon’s Earthworks/WARLORD Steve Briffa Simon Emerzidis NSW Commodore VZ 5000

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]